Aggie Women Have Flawless Winning Streak On Day Three at Austin Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

The women of Aggie Swim Club won all three individual events Saturday night of the Austin Speedo Sectionals. Among the Aggie champs was 2-time Junior National Champion and future Texas Longhorn Julia Cook, who achieved her second individual victory of the meet in the 100 back after taking the 100 free Thursday.

The winning boost from the Aggie women extended their lead in the rankings putting them at 408 points. Longhorn Aquatics remains in second at 320 point and Austin Swim Club sits in third at 152 points, only six points ahead of Rice Aquatics.

On the men’s side, Longhorn Aquatics continues to have a substantial lead the rankings at 433 points. In second place are the Alamo men at 204 points and Nitro Swimming is third at 164 points. Just two points behind in fourth place is Austin Swim Club.

Results can be found on Meet Mobile under “2018 ST TXLA Speedo Southern Sectionals” or click here to view full results for the evening. 

Women’s 100 Back

Aggie’s Cook won the first final of the night with a time of 1:01.34, almost two seconds ahead of top three finishers Houston’s Laura Laderoute (1:03.20) and Longhorn’s Kaitlin Harty (1:03.37). Sara Metzsch, another Aggie swimmer, finished in fourth at 1:03.53.         

Crawfish’s Stephanie Nelson (1:03.89), Longhorn’s Ashley Pollok (1:04.30), Nitro’s Brittany Thompson (1:04.49), Longhorn’s Jordan Wheeler (1:04.61) also raced in the top heat.

Men’s 100 Back

Joshua Artmann, swimming unattached for Austin Swim Club, won with a time of 55.86. Taking advantage of the scratch into the A-final, Tiger’s Karl Luht took second at 56.00. Longhorn’s Braxton Moore also finished in the top three at 56.43.

Rounding out the championship final was Tiger’s Matthew Klotz (56.48), unattached Preston Varozza (57.44), Eagle’s Steven Richards (57.57), and Longhorn teammates Luke Bowman (58.12) and Coby Carrozza (58.87).

Women’s 400 Free

Joy Field was the second Aggie champ of the night, winning the event at 4:18.12. Also under the 4:20 mark, Longhorn’s Logan Shiller took second at 4:18.92. Austin’s Quinn Schaedler (4:20.72) and Longhorn’s Ella Tierney (4:20.90) finished shortly after.

Three more Aggie swimmers, Karling Hemstreet (4:21.33), Sara Metzsch (4:23.33), and Audrey McMurry (4:23.84), also raced in the top heat. Crawfish’s Jolee Liles (4:26.30) capped off the top eight.

Men’s 400 Free

Zachary Yeadon of the Alamo Area Aquatic Association took the victory by over five seconds with a time of 3:53.41. Longhorn’s Christopher Yeager also broke four minutes with a time of 3:58.78. Magnolia’s Lucas Stuart took third with a time of 4:00.48.

Other championship finalists included Austin’s Clark Wakeland (4:01.09), Badger’s Jack Collins (4:01.59), Rockwall’s Ford Blaylock (4:01.89), North Texas’s David Hallaron (4:02.30), and Tiger’s Mason Nyboer (4:09.94).

Women’s 100 Fly

Beryl Gastaldello continued the Aggie winning streak by winning the 100 fly, clocking in a 59.47. Longhorn’s Lauren Case also broke a minute and came in second with 59.95. Teammate Emily Reese also took top three with a time of 1:00.58.                    

Lakeside’s Katherine Zenick (1:01.13), Aggie’s Taylor Pike (1:01.16) and Raena Eldridge (1:01.36), unattached Emma Carlton (1:01.40), and Tiger’s Helen Grossman (1:01.90) capped off the top eight.   

Men’s 100 Fly

Nation’s Capital went 1-2-3 in the last individual of the night with Jack Conger taking his second victory of the meet at 51.34. NCAP teammates John Shebat (52.59) and Sam Pomajevich (53.40) completed the top three sweep.      
Finishing top eight were Aggie’s Shaine Casas (53.71), Longhorn’s Jacob Huerta (53.73), unattached Bryce Bohman (53.93), Lakeside’s Alvin Jiang (54.82), and Aggie’s Adam Koster (55.38).

Women’s 400 Free Relay

Taking the title at 3:53.86 was the Rockwall Aquatics foursome of Amanda Armstrong (58.06), Alaya Smith (58.83), Amelia Warren (59.06), and Emma Hultquist (57.91).

The runner-up relay went to Austin Trinity (3:54.15) and third place went to Austin Swim Club (3:54.51). Austin’s anchor, 16-year-old Schaedler, split a 55.85, which is three-tenths under the winning time of Thursday’s 100 free final.

Men’s 400 Free Relay

The Austin Swim Club relay of Samuel Artmann (52.37), Niccolo Velasquez (53.97), Jaden Luo (52.80), and Clark Wakeland (53.33) won the final event of the evening with a time of 3:32.47.

Capping off the top three was Premier Aquatics (3:33.17) and Nitro Swimming (3:33.75).

The final day of competition resumes tomorrow with the 200 IM, women’s 800 free, men’s 1500 free, 50 free, and 400 medley relay. Morning prelims begin at 9:00 am CDT, evening finals start at 5:30 pm CDT.

Share and Tweet This Story


Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial