Abbie Dolan Helps Lead Visitation, Mendota Heights to Class A Minnesota State Championship

Big Ten Champs-minnesota
Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

Class A Results

Visitation, Mendota Heights won the Minnesota Girls High School State Championship with a relay sweep and Abbie Dolan leading the way with two event victories.

Dolan maintained her prelim seating with a solid 1:48.10 to grab her state championship in the 200-yard free. Kasey Milstroh of Foley was second in 1:51.43, while Johanna Jorgenson of Blake was third in 1:54.32.

Later on, Dolan dominated the 100-yard freestyle with a sizzling time of 49.62. Conners was second in 51.32, just out touching Andersen who posted a 51.50.

Earlier in the meet, Albert Lea posted a Class A Record Breaking time of 1:43.61 in the 200-yard medley relay with the team of Bailey Sandon (28.63), Lindsey Horejsi (26.25), Ahnika Jensen (25.57) and Ann Andersen (23.16). Visitation, Mendota Heights was 1:45.85 with Grace Snyder (27.46), Emily Kishish (30.32), Lorelei Gaertner (25.19) and Emily Conners (22.88). Orono was third with Allison Tallen (28.57), Samantha Norton (28.92), Ellie Thompson (27.27) and Caroline Gardner (24.21).

The 200-yard IM featured a win by Allyssa Phelps of Breck School who won the event in 2:07.13. Anna Ellis of Sartell was second in 2:08.38, while Alyssa Eckstein of Monticello was third in 2:09.56.

Horejsi posted a Class A State Record in the 50-yard free with a sizzling time of 22.79. Conners was second in 23.48, while Makayla Suominen of C-E-C was third with a time of 23.63.

Mallary Dick of Big Lake won a very close event in the Girls 1 mtr Diving with a point total of 406.80 to Megan White of Blake’s 406.05. Taylor Boraas of Monticello came in third in the event with a point total of 392.90

Bre Thorne of Breck School picked up the win in the 100-yard fly, winning a close race between Gaertner winning the event with a time of 56.49 to Gaertner’s 56.72. Bella Pittinger of Breck School was third in 57.25.

Milstroh followed up her second place in the 200 free with a win the 500-yard free, posting a time of 5:01.00. Jordyn Wentzel of Delano was second in 5:06.35, while Megan Mensinger of Proctr-Herman was third in 5:07.65.

Visitation, Mendota Heights won the 200-yard free relay with a Class A record breaking time of 1:34.07. The team of Gaertner (24.18), Conners (23.12), Kishish (24.47) and Dolan (22.30) dominated the event by over four seconds. They were followed by Orono’s team of Nora Luetmer (25.06), Tallen (25.42), Gardner (24.22) and Norton (23.55) who posted a time of 1:38.25. Albert Lea was third by just 4-hundredths of a second with the team of Andersen (24.01), Haley Simon (25.42), Taylor (24.97) and Jensen (23.89) were third in 1:38.29.

Thorne followed up her win in the 100 fly with a win in the 100-yard back, posting a time of 56.09. Ellis was a close second in 56.87, while Jessica Strangret was third in 57.33.

Horejsi followed up her national record in the 100-yard breastroke from yesterday with another solid performance. Her 58.66 won the event by five seconds. Norton was second in 1:03.66, while Amber Eckstein was third in 1:05.35.

In the final race of night, Visitation, Mendota Heights secured their sweep of the relays with their team of Snyder (53.71), Meaghan Sexton (53.27), Kishish (54.51) and Dolan (49.17) coming together for a time of 3:30.66. Breck School was second with Phelps (52.67), Pittinger (53.96), Bingham (54.61) and Thorne (52.26) in 3:33.50. Albert Lea was third with Jensen (54.56), Taylor (54.99), Simon (55.56) and Horejsi (51.37).

Class AA Results

In the first race of the night Wayzata set an all-time record in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:41.57 with the team of Carly Quast (25.16), Madison Preiss (28.36), Alexis Schaaf (24.85) and Colleen Donlin (23.20). They were followed by Stillwater’s team of Ava Howard (25.68), Margaret Eisenbrandt (30.34), Asia Neuman (24.54) and Abby Kunze (24.48) who touched the wall in 1:45.04. Lakeville South was a close third with Shea Bougie (26.35), Brianna Alexander (29.87), Ryenne Hathaway (25.15) and Josie Sommers (23.88) who posted 1:45.25.

Quast handled a quick turnaround with an incredible swim in the 200-yard free, winning the event in 1:47.94. Kelli McCarthy of Edina was second in 1:50.94, while teammate Raime Jones was third in 1:51.18.

Preiss set a Class AA record in the 200-yard IM with a winning time of 2:01.00. She was followed by Megan Wenman of Rosemount with a time of 2:03.39, while Alexander was third in 2:03.63.

Another record went down with Rachel Wittmer of Edina’s sizzling win in the 50-yard free with a time of 22.54. Bella Smits followed in 23.20, while Donlin was third in 23.43.

In the Girls 1 mtr Diving final, Michelle Schlossmacher-Smith of Roseville posted a point total of 442.05 to win the event. Andrianna Jacobs was second with a result of 440.40, while Meghan Miller was third in 419.50.

Wittmer came back from her win in the 50 free with another gold in the 100-yard fly. She posted a 53.99 to top Neuman who posted a 55.32, while Angela Le was third in 56.14.

The 100-yard free went to Bella Smits of Andover, who won the event in 50.40. Jones followed in 50.78, while Howard was third in 50.87.

Kelli McCarthy added to her medal haul with a gold in the 500-yard free to go with her silver in the 200 free. She posted a time of 4:56.91, to top Erin McCarthy of St. Anthony’s time of 4:59.77. Emma Ruehle of Armstrong was third with a time of 5:00.63.

Minnetonka won the 200-yard free relay with the team of Sophie Levy (23.95), Tru Walor (23.66), Anna Justinak (23.14) and Riley Donlin (23.09) in a time of 1:33.84. Wayzata was second with Alexis Schaaf (23.77), Jordan McGinty (23.97), Sarah Lingen (23.61) and Madison Preiss (23.37) in a time of 1:34.72. Lakeville South was third with Ryenne Hathaway (23.92), Josie Sommers (24.02), Brianna Alexander (24.22) and Shea Bougie (23.65) with a time of 1:35.81.

Quast nabbed her second event victory in the 100-yard back with a time of 54.04. She was followed by Howard who touched the wall in 54.78, and Abigail Schwartz of Centennial who was 55.79.

Madison Preiss threw down an impressive swim in the 100 breast, winning the even tin 1:02.18. She was followed by Emma Lezer of St. MichAlbert who touched the wall in 1:03.34, and Tara Chapman of Centennial who finished in 1:03.66.

In the final event of the meet, Edina won the 400-yard free with the team of Ashley Post (52.29), McCarthy (51.00), Jones (50.84) and Wittmer (49.35) in a time of 3:23.48. Wayzata was second with the group of Lingen (51.98), McGinty (52.45), Quast (50.41) and Donlin (50.94) in a time of 3:25.78. Minnetonka was third with Levy (52.78), Donlin (51.14), Martha Haas (52.00) and Justinak (51.75), finishing in 3:27.67.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x