3 Swimmers Earn Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarships

Photo Courtesy: David Wegiel

Today the Big Ten Conference announced this year’s recipients of the organization’s postgraduate scholarships. Three swimmers have been awarded the $7,500 prize this year.

Stephanie Hein of Illinois is the only woman. She is joined by Curtis Goss of Indiana and Charles Holliday of Iowa.

Full Press Release from the Big Ten:

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two students competing in intercollegiate athletics from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.

This year’s recipients span 20 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including aerospace engineering, astrophysics, biochemistry, economics, forensics, genetics, medicine, public health administration, physiology and psychology.

All of this year’s recipients have been named Academic All-Conference at least once in their career, while two have been tabbed Academic All-Americans – Michigan’s Mason Ferlic and Nebraska’s Levi Gipson. Four honorees helped lead their teams to Big Ten Championships this season, including Michigan’s Ferlic (men’s cross country), Michigan State’s Colby Wollenman (men’s basketball tournament), Nebraska’s Gipson (men’s indoor track and field) and Ohio State’s Christopher Diaz (men’s tennis).

Maryland’s Emily VandeWater, Minnesota’s Jonathan Christenson, Rutgers’ Maggie Morash and Wisconsin’s Adam Lauko have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honorees in their respective sports so far this academic year, while Illinois’ Mason Monheim, Michigan’s Ferlic and Shannon Scavelli, Ohio State’s Diaz, Rutgers’ Zack Sikora and Wisconsin’s Lauren Chypyha have earned All-Conference honors this season. Ferlic, Scavelli and Iowa’s Kathryne Brown have been named Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients with five schools yet to announce their honorees.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program.

The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2015-16 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.
Stephanie Hein, Swimming and Diving
Mason Monheim, Football

Curtis Goss, Swimming and Diving
Sarah Stone, Soccer

Kathryne Brown, Rowing
Charles Holliday, Swimming and Diving

Tyler Manion, Wrestling
Emily VandeWater, Track and Field/Cross Country

Mason Ferlic, Track and Field/Cross Country
Shannon Scavelli, Field Hockey

Michigan State
Maggie Halloran, Volleyball
Colby Wollenman, Basketball

Jonathan Christenson, Football
Jessica Flakne, Rowing

Melanie Blum, Track and Field
Levi Gipson, Track and Field

Emily Eichner, Lacrosse
Mihir Kumar, Tennis

Ohio State
Christopher Diaz, Tennis
Minori Minagawa, Track and Field/Cross Country

Penn State
Christian Kaschak, Soccer
Rebecca Stanley, Fencing

Hayden Hamby, Basketball
Andrew Hoselton, Wrestling

Maggie Morash, Soccer
Zack Sikora, Lacrosse

Lauren Chypyha, Tennis
Adam Lauko, Soccer

The Big Ten Conference contributed this report.