2022 Horizon League Championships: Oakland Sweeps Conference Titles Again

Photo Courtesy:Oakland University Athletics

Oakland swimming and diving won its ninth consecutive Horizon League women’s and men’s titles Saturday from the IU Natatorium (NAT). The women won the championship with a total score of 917. This also ties the League record for most championships by an institution. On the men’s side, Oakland won the championship title, finishing with a score of 745 to set a new record for most championships by an institution.

Getting the evening started was Emily Aycock‘s second place finish in the 1650 free with a time of 17:03.96. On the men’s side Ben Davis also finished second with a NCAA B cut time of 15:21.36 and Jonas Cantrell (15:29.06) came in third.

Susan LaGrand continued her dominating championship performance during the 200-yard backstroke where she took the top podium spot with a NCAA B cut time of 1:53.93, setting a new meet record. Kiera Brough rounded out the podium spots with a third place finish (2:01.22). Marko Khotynetskyi took the top spot for the men’s 200-yard backstroke with a NCAA B cut time of 1:41.63, also setting a new meet record.

In the 100-yard freestyle competition, Ronja Riihinen finished first with a time of 50.46. On the men’s side, Christian Bart finished in first with a NCAA B cut time of 43.32.

Taylor Bailey added to the Golden Grizzlies’ lead during the 200-yard breaststroke where she touched the wall first in a time of 2:14.35.

Oakland took second and third in the 200-yard butterfly as Jordyn Shipps (2:01.41) and Sohvi Nenonen (2:03.74) represented the Golden Grizzlies on the podium. Capping off the final individual swimming event of the evening was Danylo Hrebelnyi winning on the men’s side, finishing with a NCAA B cut time of 1:46.12.

Oakland’s swept the 400-yard freestyle relay as the women were the first to touch the wall with a time of 3:21.23. The men took the top spot on the podium with a time of 2:56.10.

Oakland’s latest Horizon League titles mark the 44th consecutive league championship on the men’s side, and the 28th-straight title for the women.

Complete results

1) Oakland 917
2) Milwaukee 598.5
3) IUPUI 505
4) UIC 502
5) Cleveland State 338.5
6) Youngstown State 262
7) Green Bay 174

1) Oakland 745
2) Cleveland State 678
3) IUPUI 602
4) UIC 376.5
5) Youngstown State 362
6) Green Bay 339
7) Milwaukee 243.5

Horizon League Swimming & Diving Specialty Awards

Women’s Specialty Awards
Athlete of the Year: Susan LaGrand, Oakland
Freshman of the Year: Emmaleigh Zietlow, IUPUI
Diver of the Meet: Cydney Liebenberg, UIC
Swimmer of the Meet: Susan LaGrand, Oakland
Diving Coach of the Year: Susan Bromberg, UIC
Swimming Coach of the Year: Kyle Clements, Milwaukee & Pete Hovland, Oakland

Horizon League Men’s Specialty Awards
Athlete of the Year: Timmy Kubacki, Cleveland State
Freshman of the Year: Jonas Cantrell, Oakland
Diver of the Meet: Felix Lafortune, UIC
Swimmer of the Meet: Marko Khotynetskyi, Oakland
Diving Coach of the Year: Tom Stover, Green Bay & Susan Bromberg, UIC
Swimming Coach of the Year: Damion Dennis, IUPUI

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with Oakland University and the Horizon League. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact Advertising@SwimmingWorld.com.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x