2020 NJCAA National Championships Day 2: IRSC Holds Strong

IRSC leads through Day 2 of the NJCAA National Championships 2020. Photo Courtesy: Indian River State College

The second day of the 2020 NJCAA National Championships brought with it close finishes, fast times and lots of excitement. The championship meet is taking place at the Anne Wilder Aquatic Complex, in Ft. Pierce, FL. The events contested included the 200 free relay, 50 back, 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free, 400 medley relay.

2020 NJCAA National Championships Details

Top 5 Teams After Day 2


  1. Indian River State College (540.5)
  2. Barton Community College (391)
  3. Iowa Central (389)
  4. Southwestern Oregon (255)
  5. Iowa Lakes (120)


  1. Indian River State College (641)
  2. Barton Community College (301)
  3. Iowa Central (271)
  4. Southwestern Oregon (255)
  5. South Georgia State College (222)

Women’s 200 Free Relay

Indian River State’s team of Hannah Kiely, Emma Colvin, Camryn Hudson and Victoria Ortiz took top honours with a time of 1:35.57. Finishing second was the team from Barton at 1:37.91, while the team from Iowa Central took third place (1:38.71). South Georgia came in fourth, meanwhile Southwestern Oregon finished fifth.

Men’s 200 Free Relay

Iowa Central’s team of Billy Cruz Kuniga, Vincent Fletcher, Tjeerd Van Stein, and Emile Lutzeler finished in first place in a time of 1:20.61. Barton’s team took second place at 1:22.90, while Indian River State finished third at 1:23.63. Meanwhile, Southwestern Oregon finished fourth and Iowa Lakes finished in fifth.

Men’s 3-Meter Diving

Corey Neas of MCC took home the title with a score of 527.05. Finishing second was IRSC’s Matt Priola scoring 505.20, while MCC’s Neko Ferrara finished in third spot at 427.40. Jake Servaites of IRSC finished fourth (396.25) and Erik Herrero of ECC finished fifth (385.35).

Women’s 50 Back

Hannah Kiely of IRSC took home top honours with a time of 26.12. In second place was Barton’s McKayla Siemiller with a time of 26.66. Meanwhile, Southwestern Oregon’s Patricija Ozola finished third (27.07) and Catherine Royden-Turner of IRSC came fourth (27.23). In fifth was Gwendolyn Bencie of IRSC (27.61), Kristen Farless of South Georgia finished sixth (27.99), Zoe Beals of Iowa Central came seventh (28.60), while Selena Howard of Barton finished eighth (28.78).

Men’s 50 Back

Barton’s Aidan Gantenbein won with a time of 23.17, while Carlos Cartagena Diaz (23.34) finished in second place, and Wyatt Dalton of South Georgia (23.55). Jack Oliver (23.75) of IRSC finished fourth, John Gill III of Iowa Central came fifth (23.76), Jhon Moncada of IRSC (23.88) came sixth. Mateus Lukaszczyk of Barton finished seventh (23.97) and Marco Cabrera Duarte finished eighth at 24.07.

Women’s 400 IM

Savanna Best of IRSC finished in a top spot with a time of 4:26.44. Aimee Miller of South Georgia finished in second place (4:37.53), and Paula Ronda of Iowa Central (4:41.02) finished third. Nina Tomic of IRSC came fourth (4:45.70) and Mary Marshall of Iowa Central came fifth (4:45.83). Sarah Alderman of IRSC came sixth at 4:50.13, Verity Vogel-Rigler of Southwestern Oregon came seventh at 4:50.57,  and Noel Updyke of South Georgia came eighth at 4:54.57.

Men’s 400 IM

IRSC’s Aramis Rivera took top honours, finishing in a time of 3:55.68. In second was Barton’s Christopher Sprenger with a time of 4:01.94, meanwhile Arthur Marques of Southwestern Oregon came third (4:04.20). Iowa Central teammates Mariano Sosa (4:06.13) and Tjeerd Van Stein (4:08.11) came fourth and fifth. In sixth place was Barton’s Ergi Veli (4:08.97) and teammate Kacper Mayerberg finished seventh (4:10.82), meanwhile IRSC’s Dylan Hacker finished in eighth (4:15.97).

Women’s 100 Fly

Emma Colvin swimming for IRSC clinched the victory in a time of 55.09, while teammate Camryn Hudson finished in second place (56.63). Taryn Dailey also of IRSC came third at 57.02. Jacqueline Feurtado of Southwestern Oregon finished fourth (58.21), IRSC’s Erifylli Maroutsou finished fifth (58.49), Lizbeth Candanedo of Barton came sixth (58.76), Cassandre Zenon of Barton came seventh (59.97), Majo Diaz of Iowa Central came eighth (1:00.09).

Men’s 100 Fly

Billy Cruz Zuniga of Iowa Central took top honours at 47.44, meanwhile James Camp of Southwestern Oregon (48.85) came second. IRSC’s Brennan Hammond finished third at 49.14, while teammate Liam Henry came fourth (50.23). Garrett Holton of South Georgia finished fifth (50.32) joint with IRSC’s Nicholas Fauteux. Alejandro Robles Ruiz of Southwestern Oregon (50.42) and Albert Kasprzyk of Barton (50.45) rounded out the championship final.

Women’s 200 Free

IRSC’s Victoria Ortiz finished with top honours with a time of 1:52.01, while her teammate Charlise Oberholzer (1:52.21) finished second. IRSC’s Kailea Green took third place with a time of 1:53.73, while Anna Hutchins of Southwestern Oregon came fourth (1:54.90). Ashlynn Amon of IRSC came fifth at 1:58.21, Eve Berg of Iowa Central came sixth (1:58.70), Sierra Williams of Barton came seventh (1:00.76), and Fanny Courbot of Barton came eighth (2:00.79).

Men’s 200 Free

Jarryd Baxter of IRSC clinched the win with a time of 1:40.22. In second place was Marcelo Busch of Iowa Central with a time of 1:41.21, meanwhile Elias Contogonas of IRSC finished third at 1:42.70. Barton’s Christian Taylor came fourth at 1:43.22, while IRSC’s Jaccob Camp came fifth (1:43.24) and teammate Maxwell Miller came sixth (1:43.59). Iowa Central teammates Gerard Ijspeert (1:44.73) and Vini Molz (1:44.84) rounded out the championship final.

Women’s 400 Medley Relay

Indian River State’s team of Hannah Kiely, Savanna Best, Emma Colvin, and Camryn Hudson took out the victory with a time of 3:44.74. Southwestern Oregon (3:55.90) finished in second spot, while Barton (3:58.94)  came third.

Men’s 400 Medley Relay

Indian River State’s team of Jhon Moncada, Olle Williamsson, Brennan Hammond and Jarryd Baxter finished with top honours at a time of 3:18.11. Iowa Central’s team finished second at 3:21.54, meanwhile Barton’s team came third at 3:21.88.

The 2020 NJCAA National Championships continues tomorrow at the Ft. Pierce, Florida.




Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rhonda Horton Miller
3 years ago

Paula Howell Camp

Paula Howell Camp
3 years ago

Rhonda Horton Miller Thank you!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x