2020 Mountain West Championships: San Diego State Repeats


The San Diego State Swimming and Diving team won its second consecutive Mountain West Championships title on Saturday, tallying an all-time league record 1,436.5 points en route to the victory. It marks the Aztecs’ fifth league title and third title in six years.

Nevada (1,015.5) maintained its second-place holding in the meet, marking the seventh straight year the Wolf Pack finished in the top three. Wyoming (903), UNLV (875.5), Colorado State (830.5) and Fresno State (810) earned third through sixth, respectively, while Boise State (807) placed seventh and New Mexico (625.5) earned eighth. San José State (490) and Air Force (389.5) rounded out the standings.

San Diego State junior Klara Thormalm was named swimmer of the meet, while Wyoming freshman Melissa Mirafuentes earned diver of the meet. Fresno State freshman Athena Clayson garnered freshman of the meet honors.

Complete results

Mountain West Championships: 1650-YARD FREESTYLE

  1. Darina Khisiamova (Fresno State); 16:43.41
  2. Josie Carpenter (New Mexico); 16:49.17
  3. Caitlyn McHugh (Nevada); 16:51.01
  • Khisiamova’s victory marks the first time in Conference championships history that a swimmer from Fresno State has won the event.
  • The Bulldogs’ time is the second-fastest time in the Mountain West this season.


Mountain West Championships: 200-YARD BACKSTROKE

  1. Athena Clayson (Fresno State); 1:55.58
  2. Katelyn Blattner (Wyoming); 1:56.13
  3. Kacey Kiuchi (UNLV); 1:56.35
  • The top three finishers in the event all swam NCAA ‘B’ cut times.
  • Athena Clayson’s victory marked Fresno State’s second individual victory of the evening and third of four in the Championship.
  • The top three times in the final also mark the top three times swam in the 200-backstroke in the Conference this season.


Mountain West Championships: 100-YARD FREESTYLE

  1. Alma Thormalm (San Diego State); 48.55
  2. Andressa Lima Cholodovskis (Nevada); 49.35
  3. Gabriella Heng (San José State); 49.79
  • Alma Thormalm’s time of 48.55 marks the fourth-fastest 100-freestyle in Conference history.
  • Thormalm’s win marks the first time since 2015 that an Aztec topped the podium in this event.
  • The Aztecs’ time also marks the fastest 100-freestyle swam in the Mountain West this season.
  • The top two times in the event all qualify as NCAA ‘B’ cuts.


Mountain West Championships: 200-YARD BREASTSTROKE

  1. Klara Thormalm (San Diego State); 2:08.30
  2. Wiktoria Samula (Nevada); 2:11.44
  3. Manuela Mendolicchio (Fresno State); 2:11.56
  • Klara Thormalm’s time of 2:08.30 sets a Mountain West all-time record and Mountain West Championships record. The mark was previously held by Li Yawen of Nevada (2:08.49, 2/21/15).
  • Thormalm’s time breaks the San Diego State all-time record in the event by over two seconds (2:10.59).
  • Thormalm’s win was the sixth of her seven times topping the podium.


Mountain West Championships: 200-YARD BUTTERFLY

  1. Kimberly Harbert (Fresno State);1:58.04
  2. Nicholle Toh (New Mexico); 1:58.32
  3. Hannah McLean-Leonard (Wyoming); 1:59.37
  • Kimberly Harbert’s time marks the seventh-best 200-butterfly swim in Mountain West history.
  • Harbert’s time is also the top time in the league this season. The top three times were the top three times in the Mountain West this year.
  • This marks the second-consecutive year a Fresno State swimmer won first in this event. Zofia Niemczak won the title in 2019.


Mountain West Championships: PLATFORM DIVING

  1. Melissa Mirafuentes (Wyoming); 324.10
  2. Karla Contreras (Wyoming); 302.80
  3. Ximena Lechuga Gonzalez (San Diego State); 292.30
  • For the first time in Conference championships history, a Wyoming Cowgirl took the platform dive crown.
  • Melissa Mirafuentes’ victory marks the first time since 2002 that a freshman won the platform dive.


Mountain West Championships: 400-YARD FREESTYLE RELAY

  1. San Diego State; 3:17.24

(Alma Thormalm, Klara Thormalm, Mia Ryan, McKenna Meyer)

  1. New Mexico; 3:20.32

(Nicholle Toh, Breanna Wiercinski, Olivia Bishop, Hedda Oritsland)

  1. Nevada; 3:20.87

(Josien Wijkhuis, Caitlyn McHugh, Andressa Lima Cholodovskis, Colette Berkenfield)

  • The relay’s time marks the fourth-fastest 400-freestyle relay time in Mountain West and the fastest time in the Conference this season.
  • The Aztecs’ win marks the first time since 2014 that a SDSU team picked up the victory in this event.



1. San Diego State, 1,463.5 6. Fresno State, 810
2. Nevada, 1,015.5 7. Boise State, 807
3. Wyoming, 903 8. New Mexico, 625.5
4. UNLV, 875.5 9. San José State, 490
5. Colorado State, 830.5 10. Air Force, 389.5



Klara Thormalm, Jr., San Diego State


Melissa Mirafuentes, Fr., Wyoming


Athena Clayson, Fresno State


Heidi Schellin, Air Force

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Congratulations Ladys