2019 Speedo Sectionals Santa Clarita Day 3: La Mirada Armada Sweeps Women’s Relay

Taylor Ault; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The 2019 Speedo Sectionals at Santa Clarita started its third day of competition. Today’s events included the 200 back, 400 free, 100 breast, 100 fly and the 800 free relays. The finals session was full of exciting and close races just as the past two days. This meet is taking place at the Santa Clarita Aquatic Center from July 18 to July 21.

Check out coverage for day one and two.

La Mirada Armada’s female relay team won the event by over nine seconds. In addition, Kenisha Liu added one more win by taking home the title in the 100 fly.

Women’s 200 Back

For her second consecutive night, Alexandra Crisera from Beach Cities Swimming won a backstroke event. She went a 2:15.86, leading the field by over three seconds. Crow Canyon Country Club’s Abriana Howard came in second with a 2:18.95. Kaitlyn Yee from La Mirada Armada got the bronze in 2:20.52.

Samantha Nickell from Riverside Aquatics placed fourth (2:20.68), followed by Team Santa Monica’s Isabelle Shapiro (2:20.93) and Marly Lough from Brea Aquatics (2:22.80). Isabella Martinez-Spencer also from Riverside Aquatics (2:23.09) and California Gold’s Madesyn Ronquillio (2:25.41) finished seventh and eight respectively.

Men’s 200 Back

After a fourth place last night and a close final, Matthew Driscoll from De Anza Cupertino Aquatics went home with the title in a 2:05.02. Tritons Aquatic Club’s Tyler James got the silver with a 2:05.19.  Robert Moseley from Roadrunner Aquatic finished third in a 2:05.86.

Brea Aquatics’s Michael Tenney finished fourth (2:06.15) and Allen Dempster from Crow Canyon Country Club placed fifth (2:07.05). Ivan Kurakin from Tritons Aquatic Club came in sixth place (2:07.37).

The seventh and eight place belonged to Aiden Scott from California Gold (2:08.60) and Brea Aquatics’s Preston Planells (2:10.43).

Women’s 400 Free

Emily Boggess from Gaucho Aquatics won the event with a 4:22.16. La Mirada Armada’s Courtney Tseng came in second with a 4:23.81 and fellow teammate Cathryn Salladin finished third in 4:25.25.

Canyons Aquatic Club’s Eleanor Horst finished fourth (4:25.47), followed by Cami Collins Bay Club Aquatics (4:26.77). Also swimming for La Mirada Armada, Kathleen Sulkevich (4:27.95), Nicole Salladin (4:31.12) and Sarah Cushman (4:31.55) rounded up the championship final.

Men’s 400 Free

Jude Williams from Riverside Aquatics went home with the victory with a 3:57.04. Gaucho Aquatics’s Joseph Lasteic got the silver with a 3:57.79, followed by Michael Wheeler from Orinda Aquatics clocking 4:03.34.

Boulder City Henderson Swim Team’s Mason Romantic came in fourth (4:04.45) and Mason Carlton from Quicksilver Swimming finished fifth (4:06.75). Kennan Hotchkiss from Westside Aquatics placed sixth (4:06.88), followed by BlueFin Aquatics’s Andrew Navarro (4:09.79) and William Schodorf from La Mirada Armada (4:12.67).

Women’s 100 Breast

Irvine Aquatics’s Gabrielle Wei won the event in a 1:12.59. Ana Jih-Schiff from Crow Canyon Country Club finished second in 1:12.87 and Brea Aquatics’s Jacqueline Basham came in third with a 1:13.41.

Unattached swimmer Amelia Feick finished fourth (1:13.58), followed by Nicola Churchill from Gaucho Aquatics (1:13.67) and Quicksilver Swimming’s Courtney Seljeseth (1:13.71). Torero Aquatics’s Kaylin Evans and Shelby Suppiger from Crow Canyon Country Club tied in seventh place (1:13.96).

Men’s 100 Breast

Unattached swimmer Anthony Moore went home with the title clocking a 1:03.25. Also swimming unattached Edgar Chin came in second with a 1:04.25. Matthew Wilcox from Walnut Creek Aquabears finished third in a 1:04.79, followed by Marcello Quarante from Gaucho Aquatics (1:04.94).

Marin Pirates’s Corban McIntosh finished fifth (1:04.98), followed by 34-year-old Kevin Bartell from Bakersfield Swim Club (1:05.55). Cole Reznick from Tri Valley Aquatics (1:05.93) and California Gold’s Rylan Stevenson (1:07.18) completed the top eight.

Women’s 100 Fly

For the third night in a row, Kenisha Liu from Brea Aquatics finished first with a 1:00.58. La Mirada Armada’s Catherine Sanchez went home with the silver in a 1:00.83 and Alexis Depaco from Crow Canyon Country Club came in third with a 1:02.74.

Marin Pirates’s Julianna Eaton finished fourth (1:02.96), followed by youngster Bailey Hartman from Crow Canyon Country Club (1:03.05) and Brea Aquatics’s Emily Trieu (1:03.08). Kailyn Winter from Quicksilver Swimming finished seventh and Bay Club Aquatics’s Cami Collins placed eight (1:03.86).

Men’s 100 Fly

Unattached swimmer Spencer Daily and the only one under 54 seconds, took home the victory with a 53.91. Brea Aquatics’s Michael Tenney finished second with a 54.22, followed by Felix Chiun from De Anza Cupertino Aquatics who clocked a 55.29.

Christian Bathrust from Beaches Cities Swimming placed fourth (55.80), while Quicksilver Swimming’s George Liu finished fifth (56.28). Orinda Aquatics’s Jolen Griffin came in sixth (56.56), followed by California Aquatics’s Benjamin Hayes (56.70) and Zac Van Zandt from Ccat Swimming (57.83).

Women’s 800 Free Relay

La Mirada Armada’s Courtney Tseng, Cathryn Salladin, Catherine Sanchez and Taylor Ault claimed the first place clocking 8:22.53, anchoring the fastest split of the heat (2:02.72).

The second place belonged to Kate Li, Emily Trieu, Ariel Wooden and Marly Lough from Brea Aquatics (8:31.79). Rea Smith, Jenna Seaman, Amber Gardner and Bailey Hartman from Crow Canyon Country Club got the bronze (8:35.32).

Men’s 800 Free Relay

Brea Aquatics’s quartet of Michael Tenney, Vinncent Cheng, Preston Planells and Nathan Chow finished first with a 7:47.49, swimming the fastest lead off (1:53.08).

Tommaso Morini Bianzino,Ryan Kirton, Alex Kurotori and Matthew Driscoll from De Anza Cupertino Aquatics went home with the silver (7:49.02). The third place belonged to Dylan Parente, Justin Morsch, Cade Brower and Kevin Childs (7:50.34) from Canyons Aquatic Club.


The concluding session of the meet kicks off tomorrow morning at 8:30am PST with the 200 IM, 50 free, Women’s 800 and Men’s 1500 free. Finals will start at 4pm PST.