2019 Speedo Sectional Christanburg: Nation’s Capital Takes Victory


Editorial Content for Speedo Sectional Series is sponsored by Speedo. Visit Speedo Today

The 2019 EZ Southern Speedo Sectional in Christianburg, Virginia, concluded with some great racing on Sunday.

Nation’s Capital Swim Club won the combined team race with 1,318.5 points. Monocacy Aquatic Club was second (624), followed by Delaware Swim Team (596), 757 Swim (508), Machine Aquatics (499.5) and Enfinity Aquatic Club (491).

In the men’s meet, Nation’s Capital won with 729, followed by Enfinity (381), Monocacy (315), Machine (292.5) and Annapolis Swim Club (214).

In the women’s team scores, Nation’s Capital won with 589.5, followed by Delaware (436), Monocacy (309), 757 (309) and Team Pittsburgh Elite (285).

Men’s 1650 Free

Zachariah Reid won the men’s 1650 free, finishing in 16:13.62, followed by Patrick Streyle (16:17.72) and Noah Jamison (16:22.88).

Leo Yang was fourth (16:25.46), followed by Connor Currie (16:26.03), Ethan Williams (16:31.10), Charlie Pitta (16:32.14) and Quintin Cheadle (16:32.62).

Women’s 200 Back

Janika Perezous clocked a 1:58.05 to win the 200 back, opening the session.

Emily Morrissey finished second in 1:59.42, followed by Danielle Ghine (2:00.51).

Finishing fourth was Catherine Weaverling (2:00.81), followed by Morgan Jones (2:00.99), Jordan Durocher (2:02.55), Megan Maholic (2:02.73) and Hayley Taylor (2:05.00).

Men’s 200 Back

Thomas Hamlet cruised to victory in the men’s 200 back, finishing in 1:47.95.

Alexander Riedel finished second in 1:48.20, followed by Joe Hayburn (1:49.47).

Allan Collins was fourth (1:50.94), followed by Nicholas Lynam (1:51.74), Patrick Hayburn (1:52.43), Nicholas Settembrine (1:52.91) and Eoin Lenham (1:53.37).

Women’s 100 Free

Kyrsten Davis was able to hang on and win the women’s 100 free, finishing in 51.32. She held off Danielle Ghine, who was just behind in 51.37.

Jordan Buechler finished third in 52.05, followed by Janika Perezous (42.62), Makenzie Higgins (52.66), Rabea Pfaff (52.71), Abigail Fuller (52.84) and Ella Epes (52.91).

Men’s 100 Free

Lucas Bureau earned a huge win in the men’s 100 free, finishing in 43.56.

Alan Li was second in 46.48, followed by Sebastian Broden (46.88).

Jacob Linder finished fourth (47.20), followed by Joey Hayburn (47.22), Daniel Wang (47.31), Hayes Goetcheus (47.47) and Patrick Hayburn (47.68).

Women’s 200 IM

Colby Hurt won the women’s 200 IM to close the women’s session. The 757 swimmer won in 1:01.65 to hold off Camille Spink, who finished in 2:01.99.

Sophie Duncan finished third (2:03.89), followed by Isabella Paoletti (2:04.13), Rabea Pfaff (2:06.49), Emma Menzer (2:07.16), Jordan Durocher (2:07.80) and Emily Morrissey (2:07.86).

Men’s 200 IM

Preston Forst closed the meet with a victory in the 200 IM. He finished in 1:50.62 to hold off Jackson Schultz (1:51.86).

Ryan Pirrung was third in 1:53.36, followed by Ben Landon (1:55.24), Michael Jiang (1:55.46), Adi Kambhampaty (1:56.84), Jake Goldman (1:57.13) and Nathan Jao (1:57.14).