2019 Mid-American Conference Day 2 Recap: Akron Pulls Ahead

Photo Courtesy: Mid-American Conference

By Jamie Kolar, Swimming World College Intern.

Day 2 of the Mid-American Conference was underway in the Ocasek Natatorium, with Akron still leading the field in the team scores. The day’s events consisted of the 500 free, the 200 IM, the 50 free, and the 200 free relay as well as 1 meter diving.

Day 2 results

Team Scores:

Akron 319

Eastern Michigan 221

University at Buffalo 199

Miami 173

Bowling Green 125

Ohio 121

Ball State 87

Toledo 61

500 Free

Miami’s Ella Moynihan came up first in the 500 with a time of 4:42.47. She was followed closely by Eastern Michigan’s Nicole Swartz (4:43.84) and Ohio’s Hannah Schlegel (4:44.35). Brittney Beetcher touched with a time 4:45.64, followed by Beatriz Pimentel Dizotti in a time 4:47.11. Alyssa Shugarman was sixth with a time of 4:48.49 and in seventh was Emma King with a time of 4:50.73 and Mackenzie Vargas rounded out the top eight with a time of 4:51.59.

200 IM

Sarah Watson of Akron touched first in the 200 IM in a winning time of 1:57.33. In second was Camila Lins de Mello of Miami with a time of 1:58.31 and in third was Olivia Sapio of Buffalo in a time of 1:59.23. Paulina Nogaj finished in fourth with a time of 1:59.32. Delaney Duncan followed ina time of 1:59.45. Ella Nebraska touched in a time of 1:59.77. Jackie Pash was seventh in a time of 2:02.20 and Hannah Fuchs was eighth with a time 2:02.34.

50 Free

All of the top three women in this event are from Akron. Sadie Fazekas touched first with a time of 22.20. Regan Engel followed with a time of 22.35 and in third was Sofia Henell with a time of 22.46. Morgan Waggoner was fourth (22.47) followed closely by Corrin Van Lanen (22.75). Andrea Ernest was sixth with a time of 22.85 followed by Katie Burns (22.94) and Jillian Lawton (23.02).

1-meter Diving

Talisa Lemke of Bowling Green took first with a score of 307.20. Second was Kami Goodrick of Akron with a score of 284.95 and rounding out the top three was Jae Sarkis of Buffalo with a score of 278.75. Sophia Tsafantakis was fourth (275.85) and she was followed closely by Bethany Berger (275.75). Brielle Johnson (269.30), Karly Crail (257.30) and Joelle Gallais (249.15) rounded out the top eight.

200 Free Relay

The last race of the night was won by the University of Akron with a time of 1:28.54. Their team was made up of Ragen Engle,Sadie Fazekas, Sofia Henell and Morgan Waggoner. In second was the University at Buffalo with a time of 1:30.52 and in third was Miami with a time of 1:31.85