2019 Brazil Trophy Day 3: Comerford, Chierighini Win, Reach World’s Top 10

Jul 14, 2015; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; Marcelo Chierighini of Brazil competes in the men's 100m freestyle swimming preliminaries during the 2015 Pan Am Games at Pan Am Aquatics UTS Centre and Field House. Mandatory Credit: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports
Marcello Chieringhini swims the 100 free. Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher/USA Today Sports Images

The third night of the 2019 Brazil Trophy continued in Rio de Janeiro tonight, with the championship finals of the men’s and women’s 400 IM, 100 free, 1500 free and 4×200 free relay.


The 2019 Brazil Trophy session began with the women’s 400 IM, which was won by Ilaria Cusinato of MTC. Cusinato touched the wall with a time of 4:40.57, just three seconds in ahead of CRF’s Barbora Zavadova, who clocked in at 4:43.27. Florencia Perotti trailed Zavadova, touching for third place with a time of 4:44.68.

Corinthians Brandonn Pierry Cruz De slid into 10th place of Fina’s World Rankings in the 400 IM, touching in at a time of 4:13.69. Cruz knocked out Australia’s Mitch Larkin, who’s time stood at 4:14.62. Second place finisher was Leonardo Coelho Santos, who touched in with a time of 4:17.98. Icaro Ludgero Pereira took third place, with a time of 4:20.66.

The women’s 100 free kicked off with American Mallory Comerford, who touched with a Fina top 10 ranked time of 53.33. Coemeford’s time puts her in sixth place in the rankings. Trailing Comerford by over a second was Etiene Pires Medeiros, who touched for second place with a time of 54.48. Third place finisher was Larissa Martins Oliveira, who touched in a tenth behind Medeiros with a time of 54.59.

The men’s 100 free led it’s top three finishers into FINA’s top 10, with Marcelo Chierighini leading the pack with a time of 47.68. Chierigini’s time put him in third place of the rankings. Chierighini was followed by Breno Correia, who touched for second with a time of 48.11, who took fifth place in the rankings, and Pedro Henrigue Silva, who touched with a time of 48.34. Silva’s time put him in ninth place in the rankings.

The women’s 1500 kicked off with Delfina Narella Pignatiello, who touched in at a time of 16:15.20. Fifteen seconds behind Pignatiello was Viviane Eichelberger Jungblut, who touched in at an even time of 16:30.00 for second place. Third place finisher was Ana Marcela De Jesus Da Cunha with a time of 16:38.05.

The evening concluded with the women’s and men’s 4×200 free relay. First place in the women’s heat went to Minas Tenis Clube, with a time of 8:04.52. The winner of the men’s heat was Pinheiros, with a time of 7:09.81.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x