2019 Big 12 Championships: Longhorns Lengthen Lead After Night Two

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

Tonight marks the second finals session of the 2019 Big 12 Conference Championships. So far, as expected, both the Texas men’s and women’s teams are ahead in the race for the conference title.

Tonight’s events include:

Women’s 500 Free

Men’s 500 Free

Women’s 200 IM

Men’s 200 IM

Women’s 50 Free

Men’s 50 Free

Women’s 400 Medley Relay

Men’s 400 Medley Relay

Scores after tonight’s events:

Women – Team Rankings – Through Event 13

  1. University of Texas 384.5
  2. University of Kansas 241.5
  3. West Virginia University 187
  4. Texas Christian University 165
  5. Iowa State University 134

Men – Team Rankings – Through Event 14

  1. University of Texas 367
  2. West Virginia University 301
  3. Texas Christian University 201

Check below for a live, event-by-event recap of tonight’s Big 12 action.

Women’s 500 Free

Texas senior Joanna Evans lowered her own Big 12 Conference record on her way to scorching the A final in a time of 4:36.87.

Evans’ teammate, sophomore Evie Pfeifer, posted a swift 4:40.60 to earn second place.

Completing the Longhorn sweep of the event, Remedy Rule touched in a time of 4:41.94, earning third in the A final.

The Kansas Jayhawk’s had Jenny Nusbaum (4:45.56, 5th) and Crissie Blomquist (4:52.70, 7th) also compete in the A final.

WVU’s Giselle Gursoy touched eighth in 4:54.84.

Winning the B final was Kansas freshman Claire Campbell who dipped under the 4:50 mark by swimming a 4:49.58. Rounding out that B heat was WVU senior Alex Pampalone (4:58.76)

Ella Tierney took the C final for the Lady Longhorns in a time of 4:50.26.

Men’s 500 Free

During this mornings prelims the Texas Longhorns posted the top eight times, filling all of the A final slots. However, Andrew Koustik and Jeff Newkirk ended up scratching the event.

Winning that heat was Townley Haas, who cruised through the morning’s session to post a 4:13.35, which was under the 4:16.08 it took to get invited to the NCAA meet last year.

Longhorn freshman Alex Zettle also got under the invited mark by touching just behind Haas in 4:13.42.

JT Larson touched third in 4:15.62.

The Mountaineers earned a 1-2-3 finish in the B final, which was led by Trayton Saladin in a time of 4:26.46. Max Gustafson (4:27.22) and Ryan Kelly (4:32.89) followed in second and third, respectively.

Rounding out the B final was TCU’s Rhorer Legendre in a time of 4:37.85.

Women’s 200 IM

The A final saw three sub-2:00 swims with the fastest of the bunch from Texas senior Nora McCullagh who swam a 1:58.14 to win the heat. Her teammate, Brooke Hansen, touched second in a 1:58.42.

WVU’s Morgan Bullock touched third in a 1:58.96.

The Jayhawks took fourth and fifth with Kate Steward (2:00.33) and Elizabeth Amato (2:01.19).

Rounding out the A final was another Jayhawk, Paige Riekhof, who touched in 2:03.21.

Winning the B final was Texas Longhorns Holly Jansen in a time of 2:02.18.

Ashley Pollok took the C final in a 2:00.10.

Men’s 200 IM

Texas stud John Shebat swam a 1:42.58 to win the A final ahead of his teammate, Matthew Willenbe, who swam a 1:43.45. Braden Vines (1:44.02) and Ryan Harty (1:44.64) touched third and fourth respectively.

Taking eighth in the A heat was WVU’s Philip Kay in a time of 1:49.75.

The Mountaineers also won the B final with Ben Brooks (1:50.00).

Women’s 50 Free

The freshman Longhorn duo of Grace Ariola (22.09) and Julia Cook (22.32) created a 1-2 punch in the A final with WVU’s Julia Nilton touched third in 22.42.

TCU’s Micaela Roemer earned eighth in the A heat with her 23.17.

Kansas Jayahwk Haley Bishop earned a B final win with a time of 23.25 while Iowa State’s Evan Hundley rounded out that heat in 23.76.

Winning the C final was Longhorn Jordan Wheeler who produced a 22.89.

Men’s 50 Free

After Texas senior Tate Jackson inexplicably scratched the A final, the door was wide open for his teammate, Daniel Krueger, to win the A final in a 19.40.

WVU’s Merwane Elmerini broke up a Texas sweep by earning second ahead of Longhorn Jacob Huerta (19.93) in a time of 19.67.

Rounding out that field was Charlie Scheinfeld (20.38) who won a swim-off to be in the A final.

TCU’s Reed Dittlinger (20.41) and Matthew Brewer (20.63) touched in a 1-2 finish in the B final.

Women’s 400 Medley Relay

Men’s 400 Medley Relay