2019 Big 12 Championships: Lady Mountaineers Take Two Top Spots on Day Three

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

Today marked the fourth and final preliminary session of the 2019 Big 12 Conference Championships in Austin, Texas.

Today’s events included:

  • Women’s 200 Back
  • Men’s Men’s 200 Back
  • Women’s 100 Free
  • Men’s 100 Free
  • Women’s 200 Breast
  • Men’s 200 Breast
  • Women’s 200 Fly
  • Men’s 200 Fly

Check below for an event-by-event recap of this morning’s races.

For full results, click here.

Women’s 200 Back

Longhorn Quinn Carrozza swam the quickest time of the morning by far with her 1:53.54. That mark should get the senior into the NCAA meet.

Behind Carrozza was a fleet of Jayhawks including Elizabeth Amato (1:56.35), Manon Manning (1:58.18) and Lauryn Parrish (1:59.00).

TCU has a duo in the A final with Madison Ibrahim (1:59.22) and Ashley Pollok (1:59.47).

Leading the B final tonight will be Kansas freshman Sydnie Horne who dipped under the 2:00 mark with her 1:59.77.

Charging the C final will be TCU’s Katelyn Kenchel (2:02.57).

Men’s 200 Back

To little surprise Texas backstroke stud Austin Katz swam a 1:41.03 to earn the middle lane in tonight’s A final with his teammates Ryan Harty (1:41.52) and Josh Artmann (1:41.89) taking the next two spots.

TCU has a few swimmers in the final including Brendan Barry and Kade Knoch who tied for eighth with their 1:45.84 and will have to swim-off for the A final duties.

WVU’s Trayton Saladin will lead the B final with his 1:45.87 from the morning. Rounding out that heat will be fellow Mountaineers Philip Kay in a 1:49.98.

Women’s 100 Free

Claire Adams swam a 48.36 to earn the rights to lane four in tonight’s A final. Texas trio of Julia Cook (48.53), Anelise Diener (49.21) and Grace Ariola (49.63) are also in the final.

Iowa State’s Anna Anderson is sitting fifth with her 50.16.

Kansas has a pair in the A final with Jenny Nusbaum (50.47) and Carly Straight (50.54) sitting sixth and seventh.

WVU’s Julia Nilton touched in a 50.47 to earn eighth.

Leading the B final will be Texas junior Jordan Wheeler in a 50.97 while Iowa State’s Emma Ruehle swam a 51.31 to get 16th.

Sitting in lane four in the C final is TCU’s Sally Clough with her 51.35.

Men’s 100 Free

Daniel Krueger and Drew Kibler are taking the Longhorns into battle with their productions of 43.32 and 43.58, respectively.

WVU put two swimmers in the A final with Merwane Elmerini (44.07) and Christopher O’Shea (44.20).

TCU’s Jackson Boersma (44.79) and Noah Cumby (44.85) will be in the middle lanes for the B final tonight.

Rounding out that heat will be WVU senior Brandon Christian with his 46.06.

Women’s 200 Breast

WVU’s Emma Harris nabbed the top spot for the Mountaineers in a 2:12.63 while Jayhawk Kate Steward is sitting second with her 2:12.98.

TCU put Lauren Hallibur in the final with her 2:16.31.

There will be two Cyclones in the A final with Martha Haas (2:18.74) and Lehr Thorson (2:20.06).

Kansas also has Kaitlyn Witt (2:19.95) in that A final.

Men’s 200 Breast

Texas duo of Braden Vines (1:55.67) and Charlie Scheinfeld (1:57.05) will lead the A final.

WVU will also be there tonight with Tristen Disibio (1:58.52) and Jack Portmann (2:01.23).

TCU has two swimmers in the A final as well with Hugh McPherson (1:59.06) and Charles Bennett (2:02.16).

Women’s 200 Fly

WVU’s Morgan Bullock took the top spot for the Lady Mountaineers with her production of a 1:56.65 while Texas senior Remedy Rule ended up nabbing the second position in 1:56.87.

Kansas has three swimmers in the A final; Haley Bishop (2:01.87), Libby Walker (2:02.03) and Ellie Flanagan (2:01.90).

Leading the B final is fellow Jayhawk Greta Olsen (2:02.88).

Men’s 200 Fly

Longhorn senior Max Holter is taking lane four in the A final tonight by virtue of his 1:43.08 he posted this morning.

WVU’s David Dixon, the man who won the 100 fly last night, is sitting third right now with a 1:44.90.

TCU’s Michael Chwaluk is leading the Horned Frogs into the B final battle with his prelim time of 1:49.63.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Lori Bullock!????

3 years ago
Reply to  Anne Emaus

Anne Emaus ,Thank YOU !!! ?

3 years ago
Reply to  Anne Emaus

Lori Bullock absolutely!