Texas Pulls Further Away on Night Two of 2018 Big 12 Championships

Photo Courtesy: Caroline Kosciusko

After this morning’s preliminary session, the University of Texas men’s and women’s teams are holding on to a steady lead in the race for the 2018 Big 12 conference team title. WVU and TCU battle for second while Iowa State and Kansas move themselves into point-scoring spots.

Tonight’s events include:

  • Women’s 500 Free
  • Men’s 500 Free
  • Women’s 200 IM
  • Men’s 200 IM
  • Women’s 50 Free
  • Men’s 50 Free
  • Women’s 1-meter Diving
  • Women’s 400 Medley Relay
  • Men’s 400 Medley Relay

After this evening’s events the Longhorn men are leading in point total with 340 points while WVU follows with 256. TCU sits in third with 183 points. The Longhorn women are also leading with 334 while Kansas sits ahead of WVU with 186 to WVU’s 165. Iowa State (148) sits ahead of TCU (115).

Check below for event-by-event coverage.

Women’s 500 Free

The C final was won by Texas freshman Logan Shiller in a time of 4:49.55. WVU’s Morgan Carr took the B final in a 4:51.33.

The A final featured Longhorn trio Evie Pfeifer (4:37.81), Quinn Carrozza (4:41.41) and Lauren Case (4:43.88) completing a 1-2-3 sweep of the event. Kansas had Jenny Nusbaum (4:47.62) and Lauryn Parrish (4:50.40) taking fourth and fifth with Iowa State’s Mary Kate Luddy just behind in 4:50.68. KU’s Nika Fellows and WVU’s Giselle Gursoy rounded out the A final.

Men’s 500 Free

TCU’s Dayne Odendaal nabbed the B final in a time of 4:27.62.

In the A final the Texas Longhorns took the first seven places leading off with Parker Neri in 4:15.40 and John Larson (4:15.60) in second. Townley Haas took third with his 4:16.00. Chris Yeager (4:19.44), Jeff Newkirk (4:19.74), Austin Katz (4:20.20) and Sam Pomajevich (4:23.48) followed. WVU’s Trayton Saladin took eighth in 4:24.90.

Women’s 200 IM

Touching first in the C final was Longhorn Ashley Pollok in a 2:01.76. The B final was won by TCU’s Kaeleigh Rice in a time of 2:02.62.

WVU’s Morgan Bullock (1:57.66) broke up a Longhorn 1-2 finish by getting between A final winner Nora McCullagh (1:56.96) and Brooke Hansen (1:57.88). Fellow Longhorn Maxine Wolters (2:00.60) and KU’s Elizabeth Amato Hanner (2:00.83) took fourth and fifth. Kansas Jayhawk Madison Straight touched in 2:03.01 for sixth while TCU’s Devin Netwon (2:03.38) and Iowa State’s Silqi Luo (2:04.32)

Men’s 200 IM

WVU’s Luke Hene took the B final in a 1:49.48.

In the A final Longhorn Jonathan Roberts (1:43.54) took the win while his teammate Ryan Harty (1:44.21) and WVU’s Nate Carr (1:45.05) followed behind. Also in the final was Longhorn Sam Stewart (1:45.78) and WVU’s David Dixon (1:46.11) who each placed fourth and fifth respectively.

Women’s 50 Free

Taking the A final was Longhorn Rebecca Millard in a 21.91 with her teammate Remedy Rule following in a 22.48. WVU’s Julia Nilton took third in 22.51. Iowa State’s Laura Miksch touch fourth in 22.53 with Longhorn Anelise Diener (22.54), Emily Reese (22.94), Kennedy Lohman (23.14) and KU’s Taylor Sieperds (23.38) following behind.

Men’s 50 Free

Tate Jackson pulled off an upset by touching out his own teammate Brett Ringgold in an 18.95 to Ringgold’s 19.07. Butterfly specialist Joseph Schooling took third in a 19.36. Mountaineer duo of Merwane Elmerini (19.57) and Drew Damich (20.22) nabbed fourth and fifth, respectively. TCU had a sixth and seventh place finish with Ross Sullivan (20.48) and Jonathan Drewes (20.70) while WVU took eighth with Sam Neaveill who faltered with a 22.10.

Women’s 1-meter Diving

Longhorn Alison Gibson took the top spot on the podium with her score of 365.25 while her teammates Meghan O’Brien (352.30) and Murphy Bromberg (320.75) completed the 1-2-3 sweep of the event.

Women’s 400 Medley Relay

The lady Longhorns destroyed the rest of the A final by throwing down a swift 3:29.51, well ahead of WVU who put together a 3:37.43. Kansas snuck in for third in a 3:38.53 followed by TCU in a 3:40.43 and Iowa State in a 3:42.72.

Men’s 400 Medley Relay

Texas let a predictable outcome, come to fruition by winning the A final in a time of 3:05.71, which featured a solid 45.09 butterfly leg from Schooling. WVU’s Jake Armstrong threw down a 51.74 breaststroke leg which contributed to the Mountaineer’s second place finish time of 3:09.78. TCU touched third with their 3:17.02.