2017 Arena Pro Series Austin: Day Two Prelims Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Editorial content for the 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series Austin is sponsored by Arena. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check out our event coverage page.


Day two prelims were highlighted by fast swims from Japanese athletes Daiya Seto, Fuyu Yoshida, and Syun Kawasaki. Seto, the winner of the 100 fly last night, set himself up for a second gold with a top showing in prelims of the 400 IM.


  • Women’s 200 Free
  • Men’s 200 Free
  • Women’s 200 Back
  • Men’s 200 Back
  • Women’s 50 Free
  • Men’s 50 Free
  • Women’s 400 IM
  • Men’s 400 IM

Hit refresh for the latest results.

Women’s 200 Free

2016 Olympians Hali Flickinger and Melanie Margalis threw down quick times in prelims of the women’s 200 free to grab spots in tonight’s final. Flickinger, representing Athens Bulldogs, returns as the top seed with a time of 1:59.69, while Margalis posted a 2:00.28 to return as third.

Picking up the second place seed was HPCO’s Kayla Sanchez with a qualifying time of 2:00.20.

Claire Rasmus of Texas A&M picked up the fourth place seed with a 2:00.82, followed by SwimAtlanta’s Amanda Weir and her time of 2:01.08.

Great Britain’s Holly Hibbott (2:01.17), Great Britain’s Kathryn Greenslade (2:01.21), and Scottsdale Aquatics’ Taylor Ruck (2:01.60) completed the top eight qualifiers.

Men’s 200 Free

Japan delivered a 1-2 punch in prelims of the men’s 200 free with Fuyu Yoshida and Tsubasa Amai returning as the top two seeds for tonight’s finals. Yoshida turned in a 1:50.46 to qualify first, followed by Amai’s 1:50.52.

Island Swimming’s Jeremy Bagshaw posted a 1:50.68 for the third place seed, while NC State’s Soeren Dahl picked up fourth with a 1:50.97.

Markus Tormänner of UBC Thunderbirds and Marcos Lavado of Azura posted matching times of 1:51.03 to share the fifth place seed.

North Texas’ Jack Levant and Japan’s Naito Ehara earned the seventh and eighth place seeds with times of 1:51.39 and 1:51.42 respectively.

Women’s 200 Back:

Hilary Caldwell of Island Swimming topped the leaderboard in prelims of the women’s 200 back, turning in a top showing of 2:10.77.

NC State’s Mackenzie Glover qualified second with a time of 2:11.39, followed by 16-year-old Eva Merrell and her time of 2:11.91.

Hannah Moore, also of NC State, grabbed the fourth place seed with a 2:13.23, while Magnolia Aquatics’ Lucie Nordmann took fifth with a 2:13.52.

Young guns Taylor Ruck of Scottsdale Aquatics and Alex Walsh of Nashville picked up the sixth and seventh place seeds with times of 2:13.79 and 2:14.44.

Lisa Bratton of Texas A&M returns as the eighth place seed with a 2:14.56.

Men’s 200 Back:

Jacob Pebley of California Aquatics topped the competition in prelims of the men’s 200 back with the only sub-2 minute swim. Pebley stopped the clock at a 1:58.19 to return as the top seed for tonight’s finals.

NC State’s Hennesy Stuart picked up the second place seed with a 2:00.20 showing, followed closely by Academy Bullets’ Sean Lehane’s 2:00.27

Omar Pinzon of FAST grabbed the fourth place seed with a 2:03.11, while UBC Thunderbirds’ Markus Thormeyer was fifth with a 2:03.75.

Rob Hill (2:03.83), NC State’s Coleman Stewart (2:04.76), and Front Range’s Harrison Lierz (2:04.88) rounded out the top eight qualifiers.

Women’s 50 Free:

Ky-lee Perry of the NC State Wolfpack and Michelle Williams, swimming unattached, delivered matching times from separate heats of the women’s 50 free prelims heats. The two stopped the clock at matching times of 25.39 to return as the top seeds for tonight’s finals.

Texas A&M’s Beryl Gastaldello grabbed the third place seed with a 25.62, followed closely by the SwimAtlanta duo of Amanda Weir (25.76) and Maddie Locus (25.88).

A second tie emerged within the top eight qualifiers, as NC State’s Natalie Labonge and Texas A&M’s Kristin Malone posted matching times of 25.91 for the sixth place seed.

Kayla Sanchez of HPCO returns as eighth with a qualifying time of 25.92.

Men’s 50 Free

The Japanese men delivered another 1-2 finish in prelims of the men’s 50 free. Syun Kawasaki and Shinri Shioura picked up the first and second place seeds with times of 22.70 and 22.73.

Race Pace Club’s Michael Andrew grabbed the third place seed with a 22.76, followed closely by NC State’s Ryan Held’s 22.84.

Yuri Kisil of UBC Thunderbirds picked up the fifth place seed with a 22.89, while Tucson Ford’s Matt Grevers took sixth with a 22.97.

Pitchfork Aquatics’ Luis Flores and Eagle Swim Club’s Ollie Smith return as the seventh and eighth place seeds with times of 23.14 and 23.23 respectively.

Women’s 400 IM

Mary-Sophie Harvey of Neptune Natation picked up the top seed in prelims of the women’s 400 IM after the ‘A’ flighted heats. Harvey posted a qualifying time of 4:41.33 to return as the top seed.

UBC Thunderbirds’ Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson grabbed the second place seed with a 4:44.59, followed by the Texas A&M duo of Sydney Pickrem (4:46.14) and Monika Gonzalez-Hermosillo (4:50.57).

Candace Hall of Great Britain posted a 4:50.70 for the fifth place seed, just ahead of NC State’s Hannah Moore and her qualifying time of 4:50.73.

Southern Methodist’s Matea Samardzic and Texas A&M’s Bethany Galat return as the seventh and eighth place seeds with times of 4:50.96 and 4:52.43 respectively.

Men’s 400 IM

Japanese Olympian Daiya Seto delivered a decisive performance in prelims of the men’s 400 IM, qualifying first for tonight’s finals by more than six seconds with a 4:20.09.

Josh Zakala of Island Swimming picked up the second place seed with a time of 4:26.72, followed closely by NC State’s Anton Ipsen’s 4:27.29.

Race Pace Club’s Michael Andrew turned in a lifetime best of 4:28.89, bettering his previous best of 4:38.61 by close to ten seconds.

Luke Reilly of UBC Thunderbirds grabbed the fifth place seed with a 4:33.16, while Nation’s Capital’s Sean Conway took sixth with a 4:35.70.

Regina Optimist’s Brian Palaschuk and Neptune Natation’s Vincent Laperie completed the top eight qualifiers with times of 4:37.65 and 4:39.19 respectively.