2016 U.S. Open Swimming Championships: Day 2 Prelims Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Everything you need to follow along live with day two prelims of the 2016 U.S. Open Swimming Championships. Hit refresh for all the latest coverage.


  • Women’s 400 Free
  • Men’s 400 Free
  • Women’s 200 Breast
  • Men’s 200 Breast
  • Women’s 200 Back
  • Men’s 200 Back

Women’s 400 Free:

Ashley Twichell of Mission Viejo turned in the top time of the morning in the women’s 400 free, stopping the clock at a 4:11.50. Twichell jumped ahead early in the first circle-seeded heat to finish ahead of Marietta Marlins’ Stephanie Peters’ time of 4:11.62.

Picking up third going into tonight’s final was York YMCA’s Courtney Harnish with a time of 4:13.53.

North Baltimore’s Sierra Schmidt delivered a strong back half in her heat to grab fourth overall with a 4:13.70.

Stephanie Marchuk of Indiana University was fifth in prelims with a time of 4:14.17, just ahead of Erica Sullivan of Sandpipers of Nevada’s 4:15.22.

Boilermaker Aquatics’ Kaersten Meitz turned in a 4:15.48, good for seventh going into tonight’s final.

Marlins of Raleigh’s Madison Homovich rounded out the top eight with a 4:15.52.

Men’s 400 Free:

Gator Swim Club’s True Sweetser topped prelims of the men’s 400 free with a time of 3:51.83.

A duo of 3:52’s followed as COSSS’s Nicholas Grainger and Badger Swim Club’s Zane Grothe posted times of 3:52.38 and 3:52.98 respectively.

Swim Wales’ Daniel Jervis turned in a time of 3:53.76 for the fourth place seed in tonight’s final, just ahead of Crimson Aquatics’ Liam Egan’s 3:53.86.

PJ Ransford of Club Wolverine picked up the sixth place seed with a time of 3:55.42, while Kentucky Aquatics’ Isaac Jones (3:56.02) and Andrew Brady (3:56.20) finished seventh and eighth respectively.

Women’s 200 Breast:

Madisyn Cox dashed ahead of the competition in prelims of the women’s 200 breast, turning in a time of 2:27.69 to return as tonight’s top seed.

Aggie Swim Club’s Bethany Galat and Cardinal Aquatics’ Andee Cottrell delivered similar times of 2:28.61 and 2:28.75 to grab the second and third place seeds respectively.

Picking up fourth in tonight’s final was Olivia Anderson of Aquajets Swim Team. Anderson stopped the clock at a 2:29.09, just ahead of Aggie Swim Club’s Medina Gonzalez’s 2:29.43.

Nation’s Capital Anna Belousova was sixth in prelims with a 2:30.37, while Miranda Tucker, swimming unattached, finished seventh with a 2:30.97.

Franko Jonker, unattached, posted eighth with a 2:31.10.

Men’s 200 Breast:

Longhorn Aquatic’s Andrew Wilson, the top seed going into prelims of the men’s 200 breast, maintained his spot atop the competition board with a 2:12.94 showing. Wilson’s time sits more than a second ahead of the competition due largely to his quick front half of the race.

Australia’s Matthew Wilson leads a contingent of international swimmers who grabbed spots in the ‘A’ final for tonight. Wilson turned in a 2:14.08 for second, just ahead of Loughborough’s James Wilby’s time of 2:14.31.

Marat Amaltdinov of Boilermaker Aquatics grabbed the fourth place seed with a 2:14.47, while New Zealand’s Julian Layton returns as fifth with a 2:14.51.

A trio of 2:16’s by WEST Swim Club’s Nick Zeto (2:16.17), Powel Crosley’s Jonathan Rutter (2:16.30), and Indiana University’s Cody Taylor (2:16.47) complete tonight’s ‘A’ final.

Women’s 200 Back:

Australia’s Sian Whittaker was the only athlete of the morning to dip below the 2:10 mark in the women’s 200 back, stopping the clock at a 2:09.73. That time sits a little over two seconds off her seed time of 2:07.47, a seed time that separates her from the rest of the competition by almost three seconds.

Aquazot’s Eva Merrell turned in a 2:10.39 to pick up the second place seed, just ahead of NC State’s Hannah Moore, who finished prelims with a time of 2:10.89.

The fourth place spot for tonight’s final was grabbed by Kentucky Aquatic’s Bridgette Alexander and her time of 2:10.92.

Tasija Karosas of Longhorn Aquatics turned in a time of 2:11.18 to finish fifth in prelims, while Riptide’s Regan Smith posted a 2:11.41 for sixth.

Irish Aquatics’ Alice Treuth (2:13.14) and North Carolina’s Hellen Moffitt (2:13.36) return as seventh and eighth respectively.

Men’s 200 Back:

H2okie’s Robert Owen upset the top seed in prelims of the men’s 200 back to claim the top seed for tonight’s final. Owen posted a 1:57.39, shaving .09 seconds off his entry time of 1:57.48.

Slipping to second was New York Athletic Club’s Arkady Vyatchanin with a time of 1:59.32 to be the only other swimmer under the 2-minute mark.

Alabama’s Crews Wellford turned in a 2:00.73 to pick up the third place seed going into finals, while Indiana’s Bob Glover returns as fourth after stopping the clock at a 2:01.23.

Brennan Balogh of Lincoln Select posted a 2:01.72 to pick up the fifth place seed.

Indiana’s James Beckman (2:02.04), Irish Aquatics’ Rob Whittacre (2:02.40), and Wisconsin Aquatics’ Todd McCarthy (2:02.64) rounded out the top eight qualifiers.