2016 MAC Championships: Day Three


By Courtney Bartholomew, Swimming World College Intern

Results can be found here: MAC Championship Central


400 IM

The Bowling Green sophomore Franziska Wohlert dominated prelims and finals today in the Women’s 400 IM. This morning she took the even in a 4:21.79 and then in finals tonight dropped an impressive three seconds for a final time of 4:18.04. Second in this event tonight was Holly Schuster, the sophomore from Miami of Ohio in a 4:20.72. Third was senior Claire Daniel from Eastern Michigan in a 4:23.39.


100 Butterfly

Erin Seiler the senior from Akron took home an individual MAC title in this event tonight. She finished in a 52.97, a half-second better than her preliminary time. Addy Ferguson, a senior from Ohio University, was runner-up in a 53.13 and Sadie Fazekas, a freshman from Akron was third in a 53.83. This event showcased seven of the top-16 finalists being under the NCAA B-standard cut.


200 Freestyle

Rebecca Detro, the senior from Eastern Michigan University, won the 200 freestyle in a 1:47.39. In finals, she bettered her time from the preliminary session of 1:47.80. Second place was Victoria Griffin, a junior from Bowling Green in a 1:48.42. Rounding out the top three was sophomore Megan Burns from Buffalo in a 1:48.98.


100 Breaststroke

Delaney Duncan, the freshman from Eastern Michigan took home her first individual MAC Championship title tonight in meet record fashion. She won the event in a 59.46, bettering her preliminary time of 1:00.27. Not only was the swim a meet record, but the time was only .42 off the NCAA A-standard cut. Second was Sammy Richart of Toledo in a 1:00.54 and third was Daniela Carrillo of Bowling Green. Carillo set the Bowling Green school record in a 1:00.57.


100 Backstroke

Ludwika Szynal of Akron took the final individual event of the evening. Missing the meet record and conference record of 53.10 set in 2014, she won the race in a 53.16. In second place was meet and MAC record holder, Addy Ferguson the senior from Ohio University, in a 53.55. This was the second event of the night in which Ferguson placed in the top three. Rounding out the top three was Madison Myers, the freshman from Akron, in a 53.68.


400 Medley Relay

Eastern Michigan’s Duncan, Alexis Mitcheltree, Carly Jackson and Mary Kate Maclean who grabbed the 2016 title in a time of 3:37.17. Second was Akron in a 3:37.89 and third was the team from Miami of Ohio in a 3:41.04.

The final day of competition will take place on Saturday with preliminaries beginning at 11:00 a.m. The evening finals session will stream on ESPN3 at 5:00 p.m. EST.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x