2016 Junior Nationals: Day 1 Prelims Live Recap


By Caitlin Daday, Swimming World College Intern

Everything you need to follow along with prelims of day one of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 Butterfly
  • Men’s 200 Butterfly
  • Women’s 100 Breaststroke
  • Men’s 100 Breaststroke

Hit refresh for all the latest coverage.

Women’s 200 Butterfly:

To kick off the first morning of the 2016 Junior National Championships, Austin Swim Club’s Dakota Luther held onto her top spot in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:10.55. Over two seconds behind her, 14 year old Regan Smith out of Riptide Swim Team improved her seed time by nearly four seconds to finish second in 2:12.90. Also with a big drop, Tide Swimming’s Callie Dickinson claimed the third spot in 2:13.51.

Ashly Fiorilli of Texas Ford Aquatics was fourth with a time of 2:14.31. Highlander’s Carley Lowe out touched Crimson’s Jewels Harris for the fifth spot, with times of 2:14.68 and 2:14.70 respectively.

Coleen Gillilan of Fort Collins (2:15.29) and Brea Aquatics’ Kenisha Liu (2:15.60) rounded out the top eight qualifiers for tonight’s final.

Men’s 200 Butterfly:

Tying his entry time, North Carolina Aquatic Club’s William Macmillan retained his top seed for tonight’s final, swimming a time of 2:00.33. Just behind him for the second spot is Fynn Minuth who dropped two seconds to finish in 2:00.62. Spencer Carl of Michigan Lakeshore will be third tonight, with a time of 2:01.27.

Taking the fourth spot in tonight’s final is Jack LeVant, representing the North Texas Nadaores, who touched in 2:01.73. Sandpiper’s Carter Grimes is fifth in 2:02.98.

Sixth through eight place were separated by a mere tenth of a second, with Irvine Novaquatics’ Andrew Koustik at 2:02.98 for sixth, Alex Dillmann of Maverick in seventh at 2:03.00, and Memphis Thunder’s Jack McCaghren eighth in 2:03.08.

Women’s 100 Breaststroke:

In the women’s 100 breaststroke, 15 year old Zoe Bartel of Fort Collins swam the top time of the morning in dominating fashion. Her 1:09.26 was nearly a second and a half ahead of Champaign County YMCA’s Ema Rajic, who came in at 1:10.65. Just behind her for third was Firestone Akron’s Hanna Gresser in 1:10.75.

Fourth went to Halle Morris of North Bay with a time of 1:10.81. Olivia Calegan, representing Greater Nebraska, was fifth in 1:11.32.

Following her teammate Gresser, Carly Hart took sixth in 1:11.45. Just behind her for seventh was Texas Ford’s Rachel Ramey in 1:11.46. Alicia Harrison of Buenaventura completed the top eight qualifiers with a time of 1:11.52.

Men’s 100 Breaststroke:

Continuing the trend of the morning, the National Age Group record holder in this event, Michael Andrew, held onto the top seed in 1:00.75, about a second off his NAG record. Second place went to Devon Nowicki of Aqua Swim Club, who touched in a time of 1:01.49. These two led the field by a large margin, with third place finisher Daniel Roy of Spokane coming in at 1:03.70.

Mason Manta Rays’ Jake Foster took the fourth spot in 1:03.91, while AJ Bornstein of Ridgefield was fifth in 1:03.97. Charles Scheinfeld, representing New Trier, touched sixth in 1:04.08.

Rounding out the top eight for tonight’s final were Mitch Hovis (1:04.40) of King Aquatic Club and Dillon Hillis (1:04.41) of Manhattan Makos.