2016 Atlanta Classic: Day 2 Prelims Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Everything you need to follow along with prelims of day two of the 2016 Atlanta Classic.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 fly
  • Men’s 200 fly
  • Women’s 50 free
  • Men’s 50 free
  • Women’s 100 back
  • Men’s 100 back
  • Women’s 200 breast
  • Men’s 200 breast
  • Women’s 400 free
  • Men’s 400 free

Hit refresh for all the latest coverage.

Women’s 200 Fly:

Hali Flickinger grabbed the first place seed with a time of 2:10.82 in prelims of the women’s 200 fly. Andreina Pinto raced to a second place seed with a time of 2:12.04, while Megan Kingsley finished third in prelims with a 2:12.53.

A duo of 2:13’s highlighted the middle of the pack with Lauren Case and Ella Eastin earning the fourth and fifth place seeds respectively. Case stopped the clock at  a2:13.88 compared to Eastin’s 2:13.97.

Christina Bechtel posted the sixth fastest time of the morning at a 2:14.85.

Kaitlin Pawlowicz (2:15.46) and Taylor Katz (2:15.96) rounded out the top eight.

Men’s 200 Fly:

Joseph Schooling, last night’s winner in the men’s 100 fly, topped the competition in prelims of the 200 fly with a time of 1:59.50.

A trio of close swims qualified after Schooling with Pace Clark leading the way. Clark stopped the clock at a 2:00.45 to earn the second place seed ahead of Kyle Higgins (2:00.72) and Mick Litherland (2:00.92).

Posting the fifth fastest time of the morning was Tom Shields at a 2:01.20.

Dakota Hodgson grabbed a narrow sixth place seed over Jack Conger. Hodgson turned in a 2:01.30 over Conger’s 2:01.33.

Sebastien Rousseau turned in the eighth fastest time with a 2:01.43.

Women’s 50 Free:

The women’s 50 free was highlighted by an array of NCAA sprinting all-stars. The 2016 NCAA sprinting champion Olivia Smoliga delivered a sizzling 25.38 to finish first in prelims.

Smoliga was closely followed by Simone Manuel and her time of 25.46.

Amanda Weir and Lia Neal finished third and fourth respectively in prelims with times of 25.59 and 25.67.

Madeline Locus grabbed the fifth place seed with a time of 25.84, while Natalie Labonge posted the final sub-26 of the morning at a 25.97.

Bailey Scott (26.04) and  Isabel Ivey (26.08) earned the final two spots in the ‘A’ final.

Men’s 50 Free:

Nathan Adrian dashed to first in the men’s 50 free, stopping the clock at a 22.10. Last month at the Mesa stop of the Arena Pro Swim Series Adrian turned in a 21.69 to tie him with Russia’s Vladimir Morozov for fourth in the world rankings for 2016.

Bruno Fratus grabbed the second place seed with a time of 22.40. Finishing close behind was Marcelo Chierighini with a 22.60. 

NCAA sprinting champion Caeleb Dressel earned the fourth place seed with a time of 22.92, just ahead of Robert Howard’s 22.99.

John Murray and John Wagner turned in similar times of 23.06 and 23.09 for sixth and seventh in prelims.

Caleb Weir finished eighth overall with a time of 23.13.

Women’s 100 Back:

Not long after posting the top time in the women’s 50 free Olivia Smoliga was back and turning in the top time in the women’s 100 back. Smoliga stopped the clock at a 1:00.88 setting herself up for a fun night of racing.

Natalie Coughlin finished second overall with a time of 1:01.07, while Bridgette Alexander grabbed third overall in prelims with a 1:01.36.

Tasija Karosas earned the fourth place seed with a time of 1:01.83, just ahead of Alex Walsh’s 1:01.88.

Lisa Bratton turned in a 1:02.25 for the sixth place seed and Courtney Caldwell posted a 1:02.30 for seventh.

Eighth went to Hali Flickinger and her time of 1:02.40.

Men’s 100 Back:

The Cal duo of Ryan Murphy and Jacob Pebley topped the competition in the men’s 100 back. Murphy led with a 55.50 and Pebley finished close behind with a 55.70 for second.

Michael Taylor posted the only other sub-56 of the morning, stopping the clock at a 55.89.

Taylor Dale and Eugene Godsoe grabbed the fourth and fifth place seeds with close times. Dale finished fourth with a 56.27, ahead of Godsoe’s 56.39.

Jay Litherland turned in a time of 56.63 for sixth overall, while Kyle Darmody finished seventh with a 56.71.

Justin Ress was eighth with a 56.94.

Women’s 200 Breast:

The women’s 200 breaststroke proved to be a tight race with Laura Sogar and Sarah Henry finishing a slim .33 seconds apart in prelims. Sogar earned the top seed with a 2:30.32, while Henry settled for second and a 2:30.65.

Anie Zhu and Melanie Margalis delivered almost matching times, stopping the clock a shy .02 seconds apart. Zhu edged out Margalis 2:31.30 to 2:31.32.

Ella Nelson claimed the fifth place seed with a 2:31.90, while sixth went to Vanessa Pearl and her time of 2:33.96.

Madisyn Cox finished seventh overall in prelims with a 2:34.72. Kayla Brumbaum took eighth with a 2:36.12.

Men’s 200 Breast:

Josh Prenot rocketed to the top of the leaderboard in the men’s 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:12.47.

Grabbing second was young breaststroke star Reece Whitley with a time of 2:17.14. Third went to Andrew Wilson, last night’s 100 breast winner, with a time of 2:18.51.

Moises Loschi grabbed fourth overall with a 2:19.65, while fifth fell to Chuck Katis and his time of 2:20.34.

Gunnar Bentz claimed the sixth place seed with a 2:20.86 and Basil Orr finished seventh in prelims with a 2:21.25.

Brad Craig rounded out the top eight with a 2:21.29.

Women’s 400 Free:

Katie Ledecky, distance freestyle queen, clocked the top seed of the morning in the women’s 400 free at a 4:04.70. That time sits just five seconds off her 2016 best of 3:59.54.

Claiming second was Hali Flickinger with a time of 4:10.95, while Stephanie Peters rounded out the top three with a 4:13.30.

Andreina Pinto and Sarah Henry posted close times of 4:14.09 and 4:14.36 to finish fourth and fifth respectively.

Brittany MacLean claimed the sixth place seed with a time of 4:14.85.

Hannah Moore (4:16.38) and Madelyn Donohoe (4:16.94) completed the top eight qualifiers.

Men’s 400 Free:

Bryan Lee led the qualifiers in prelims of the 400 free with a qualifying time of 3:57.03. Grabbing second was Chris Yeager with a 3:58.91.

Walker Higgins turned in a time of 3:59.24 for the third place seed, while Adam Linker finished fourth with a 3:59.84.

Kevin Litherland posted a 3:59.97 to finish fifth overall in prelims just ahead of brother Jay Litherland’s 4:00.23.

Carl Madden (4:00.62) and Andrew Gemmell (4:01.53) rounded out the top eight.