2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Mesa: Day 3 Finals Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

The final session of the Arena Pro Swim Series Mesa is here. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

Women’s 800 free

Katie Ledecky was once again first to the wall, and posted the second fastest time in the world this year. She challenged her own world record through the first 400 meters before falling further off the pace. Ledecky stopped the clock at 8:13.20, still five seconds faster than the next best swimmer in the world this year.

Lotte Friis finished second in 8:27.85 while teammate Cierra Runge finished third in 8:32.21.

Kristel Kobrich edged Becca Mann 8:34.24 to 8:35.35.

Sierra Schmidt (8:37.84), Joanna Evans (8:48.63), and Kaitlin Pawlowicz (8:53.90) also competed in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.12.08 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 200 IM

Katinka Hosszu led after fly but Maya Dirado pulled ahead with a great backstroke split and went on to win the race tonight. Dirado posted a final time of 2:11.09, the 10th fastest in the world this year, just off her own seventh best 2:10.77.

Ella Eastin was just behind in 2:11.35. Melanie Margalis rounded out the podium performances in 2:12.22.

Madisyn Cox finished fourth in 2:12.35 while Hosszu fell to fifth in 2:12.37.

Caitlin Leverenz (2:14.70), Kirsty Coventry (2:14.76), and Sarah Henry (2:15.45) also competed in the A final.

Patricia Castro Ortega won the B final in a 2:14.79.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.23.13 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 200 IM

Michael Phelps was first to the butterfly wall, further ahead after backstroke, and held on for the win. Phelps touched in 1:57.90, the third fastest time in the world this year. Training partners Chase Kalisz and David Nolan finished second and third in 1:59.05 and 2:00.89. Kalisz’s time is the tenth fastest in the world this year.

Max Williamson finished fourth in 2:02.61. Andrew Seliskar touched fifth in 2:02.86.

Gunnar Bentz (2:03.01), Marko Blazevski (2:05.16), and Sean Grieshop (2:07.23) completed the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.34.08 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 200 Back

Katinka HosszuMaya Dirado, and Kirsty Coventry were all fresh out of the 200 IM when they hopped back in for tonight’s 200 backstroke. That didn’t seem to phase Dirado who raced her way to the world’s tenth fastest time this year with a 2:08.61, winning the event by well over a second. Dirado already holds the world’s seventh best time from the Austin stop of the Pro Series. That was Dirado’s second win in two consecutive events.

Kirsty Coventry held on for second place in 2:10.04. Kaitlin Harty was just behind her in 2:10.23.

Matea Samardzic finished fourth with a 2:13.46 while Hosszu ended up fifth in 2:13.91.

Melanie Klaren (2:14.24), Erin Earley (2:15.98), and Ally Howe (2:16.57) also competed in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.44.27 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 200 Back

Ryan Lochte scratched the 200 IM to focus on the 200 backstroke and he won the event tonight. Lochte stopped the clock in 2:01.04, not far ahead of Omar Pinzon in 2:01.65. Connor Green was third in 2:02.03.

Bryce Mefford (2:03.20), Johannes Calloni (2:03.73), Nolan Tesone (2:04.10), Preston Jenkins (2:05.45), and Drew Cosgarea (2:05.61) also competed in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 8.54.25 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 100 free

Simone Manuel may have been second to the 50 meter wall but she was first when it counted. Manuel stopped the clock at 53.80 to win the 100 tonight. That is the 11th fastest time in the world this year. Abbey Weitzeil touched second in 54.22 Dana Vollmer finished third with a time of 54.54.

Amanda Weir and Lia Neal tied for fourth in 54.70.

Katie Ledecky (54.89), Kelsi Worrell (55.45), and Margo Geer (55.50) also competed in the A final.

Allison Schmitt won the B final in 54.88. Last night’s 50 champion Madison Kennedy swam a 55.21 for second in that race.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 9.02.28 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 100 Free

Nathan Adrian absolutely dominated the A final of the 100 freestyle tonight. Adrian turned in a 48.00 to tie the fourth fastest time in the world this year, matching Florent Manaudou‘s effort.

Only three other swimmers tonight even cleared 50 seconds. Christian Quintero (49.45), Jimmy Feigen (49.80), and Conor Dwyer (49.89) finished second through fourth.

Matias Koski (50.04), Michael Chadwick (50.12), Daniel Ramirez (50.43), and Ryan Lochte (50.69) also competed in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 9.09.22 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 1500 Free

Jordan Wilimovsky jumped out to an early lead and held on for a huge swim tonight. Wilimovsky posted a 14:53.12, a new lifetime best time and the world’s fifth fastest time this year.

Michael McBroom touched second in 15:11.62 and Ous Mellouli finished third in 15:16.82. Clark Smith swam to a fourth place showing with a 15:19.08.

Marcelo Acosta (15:27.39), Taylor Abbott (15:28.60), Christopher Yeager (15:34.80), and Chris Wieser (15:38.16) completed the top eight finishers.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 9.30.50 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing


  • Women’s 800 free
  • Women’s 200 IM
  • Men’s 200 IM
  • Women’s 200 back
  • Men’s 200 back
  • Women’s 100 free
  • Men’s 100 free
  • Men’s 1500 free
Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial