2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Mesa: Day 1 Finals Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

Exciting races await in the first night of finals action at the Mesa stop of the Arena Pro Series. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

Women’s 200 free

Katie Ledecky took the 200 freestyle out in a 56.56 and held on to win the first event of the night in 1:55.71.

Allison Schmitt held on for second in 1:56.52. Maya Dirado was led a pack of 1:58s with her 1:58.64 third place finish. Melanie Margalis and Cierra Runge were on Dirado’s heels with a 1:58.70 and a 1:58.88. Simone Manuel posted a 1:59.08. Patricia Castro Ortega (1:59.31) and Hannah Cox (2:00.27) completed the A final.

Despite a slower morning swim that left Missy Franklin in the B final, she posted a 1:58.64 to take her heat at night and improve by nearly two seconds from her prelims race.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.11.54 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 200 free

Conor Dwyer was well ahead of the field with a top time of 1:46.61. That time moves him into a tie for sixth in the world this year. His Trojan teammate Christian Quintero was second in 1:48.10. Ryan Lochte grabbed third in 1:48.85.

Matias Koski (1:48.90), Clark Smith (1:49.01), Jack Conger (1:49.48), Logyuan Gutierrez (1:49.80) and Michael McBroom (1:49.84) also raced in the A final.

Michael Phelps won the B final in 1:48.21.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.17.53 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 100 breast

Katie Meili held off a charging Alia Atkinson 1:06.49 to 1:06.84. That swim moved Meili from 11th in the world this year to sixth. Atkinson was out of the top 20 and now sits in 13th.

Molly Hannis was off her season best, world’s fourth, time of 1:06.16 with her third place 1:06.95.

Jessica Hardy raced to a 1:07.09 for fourth. Sarah Haase (1:07.53), Hilde Luthersdottir (1:07.86), Melanie Margalis (1:07.97) and Haley Spencer (1:08.69) rounded out the A final.

Breeja Larson topped the B final in a 1:08.61.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.26.53 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 100 breaststroke

The top four men in the 100 breaststroke were within seven hundredths of each other. Youssef El Kamash got his hands on the wall first, stopping the clock in 1:01.31. Second went to Miguel De Lara Ojeda in 1:01.36. Andrew Wilson was just behind in 1:01.37. Azad Al-Barazi finished fourth in 1:01.38.

Michael Andrew (1:01.47), Nic Fink (1:01.97), Jonathan Leopold (1:02.40) and William Wihanto (1:02.83) also swam in the A final.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.36.51 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 100 fly

Dana Vollmer, the “Mama on a Mission,” showed her talents tonight. Vollmer stopped the clock in 56.94 to win the 100 butterfly. That time moves her to fourth in the world. It is also the first time a US woman has gone faster than 57 seconds since Vollmer won the event at the 2012 Olympics.

Short course star Kelsi Worrell touched second in 57.27, faster than her 57.52 swum in France last week. That swim will move her into a tie for ninth in the world this year.

Cassidy Bayer finished third in 58.92. Claire Donahue was fourth in 59.05.

Hellen Moffitt (59.30), Felicia Lee (59.95), Amber Carter (1:00.11) and Lauren Case (1:00.13) rounded out the top eight.

Maya Dirado was first to the wall in the B final with a 59.39.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.51.56 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 100 Fly

Seth Stubblefield took home gold in the men’s 100 fly tonight with a 52.53. That swim is a tie for the 19th best in the world this year.

Jack Conger was second in 52.74. Giles Smith rounded out the podium with a 53.15.

David Nolan finished fourth in 53.43. Longyuan Gutierrez placed fifth with a 53.72.

Tim Phillips (53.72), James Cooper (53.96), and Andrew Seliskar (54.57) also swam in the A final.

Ryan Lochte won the B final with a 53.60. Pace Clark was on his heels in 53.69 as the two posted the fifth and sixth fastest times of the night.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.53.59 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 400 IM

Though well off her prelims swim of 4:32.22, it was Katinka Hosszu from start to finish tonight. The Iron Lady stopped the clock in 4:35.81 to win the 400 IM. Cammile Adams raced to second in 4:40.14.

The star of IMs at last month’s NCAAs, Ella Eastin, wound up third in 4:42.11, just a shade faster than her prelims swim.

Vien Nguyen (4:44.02), Matea Samardzic (4:45.81), Madisyn Cox (4:45.81), Sarah Henry (4:46.10), and Becca Mann (4:47.49) placed fourth through eighth.

Caitlin Leverenz won the B final by five seconds in a 4:44.91.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 9.03.04 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 400 IM

Sean Grieshop dropped three seconds from his morning swim to win the 400 IM tonight. The young Nitro swimmer posted a 4:18.75. Ous Mellouli also held his seed with a two second drop and a 4:21.94. Gunnar Bentz knocked five seconds off his morning time to take third in 4:22.01.

Tyler Clary and Connor Green finished close in 4:24.25 and 4:24.38.

The sixth through eighth place finishers were Marko Blazevski (4:27.33), Nolan Tesone (4:28.73), and Rafa Alfaro (4:29.14)

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 9.16.46 PM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing


  • Women’s 200 free
  • Men’s 200 free
  • Women’s 100 breast
  • Men’s 100 breast
  • Women’s 100 fly
  • Men’s 100 fly
  • Women’s 400 IM
  • Men’s 400 IM
Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial