2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Indianapolis Live Finals Coverage, Night 2; Heat Sheets Included

Signapore's Zheng Wen Quah is the top seed in the men's 200 fly. Photo Courtesy: Peter Bick

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

Everything you need to follow day two prelims of the 2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Indianapolis. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

Click here for the finals heat sheet.

Order of Events:

Women’s 200 fly
Men’s 200 fly
Women’s 50 free
Men’s 50 free
Women’s 100 back
Men’s 100 back
Women’s 200 breast
Men’s 200 breast
Women’s 400 free
Men’s 400 free

Women’s 200 Fly

A-Finals: Kelsi Worell lead the race by a full half-second throughout the first 150 meters, but was pressed by Kentucky Aquatic’s Christina Bechtel in the homestretch. Worell maintained her lead, and touched first in a 2:09.25, cutting three tenths from her morning swim. Second place went to Bechtel with a 2:09.82, who cut a tenth from her morning swim. Third place went to Athens Bulldog’s Hali Flickinger at a 2:10.29.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 3.41.54 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Kentucky Aquatics’ Abby Meyers held the lead in the B-finals by nearly a half second through the first 150, but her 37.69 final split eventually caused her to fall to top B-final seed Dana Grindall, who swam a textbook back-half race and finished in a 2:14. 46

Men’s 200 Fly

A-Finals: Tonight Singapore’s Zheng Wen Quah, the favorite to win the distance fly event, didn’t disappoint. He battled Athens Bulldogs’ Gunnar Bentz to the finish, then managed to touch ahead of Bentz by six one-hundredth, putting the final times at a 1:57.64 for Quah and 1:57.70 for Bentz. Third went to Club Wolverine’s Michael Kleuh, who swam slightly faster than his morning time for a 1:58.93 official finish.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 3.49.47 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Before the A-final took to the water, the 4th fastest 200 fly of the day went to B-final winner Dynamo Swim Club’s Jay Litherland with a 1:59.66. His time would have placed him fourth in the A-finals.

Women’s 50 Free

A-Finals: SwimMac’s Arianna Vanderpool Wallace maintained her 50 free dominance tonight by breaking the 25-second barrier from her top position in lane 4. Wallace swam a 25.07 this morning, then came back tonight to post a 24.84 in finals. Second went to Athens Bulldog’s Olivia Smoliga (25.07) and third went to Kelsi Worrell (25.14).

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 3.59.22 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA TIMING

B-Final: The top B-final position went to Mallory Comerford at a 25.74.

Men’s 50 Free

A-Finals: New York Athletic Club’s Josh Schneider took the 50 free title from top qualifier Bruno Fratus, but cutting over half a second from his 22.84 morning swim to post a 22.16 for the event win. Fratus fell to third in a very close race with Marcelo Chierighini. Chierighini touched in a 22.35 to Fratus’ 22.37. Lane 8’s Joao De Lucca is already qualified to represent Brazil in this summer’s Olympics.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.03.20 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Final: The B-final win went to Kyle Decoursey (23.09).

Women’s 100 Back

A-Finals: It was a fight to the finish between Athens Bulldog’s Olivia Smoliga and University of Missouri’s Hannah Stevens. The two both posted sub-minute morning swims, and then continued to cut time in finals. Smoliga cut four tenths from her preliminary time to post a number-two performance by a US swimmer in the event this year with a 59.41. Stevens’ 59.67 places her seventh this season for a US swimmer in the event. Third went to Oakville’s Dominique Bouchard with a 1:00.81.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.15.14 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Out in lane seven, Scotland’s Kirsty Simpson cruised to the win with a 1:01.68.

Men’s 100 Back

A-Finals: New York Athletic Club’s David Plummer posted a season best and the fourth fastest time by a US swimmer this evening with a 52.40 winning time. Plummer crushed the field, touching nearly three seconds ahead of the nearest competitors. Second place went to St. Thomas Swimming’s Rex Tullius, who took over a second off his morning time to post a 55.07. Third went to New York Athletic Club’s Arkady Vyatchanin (55.14).

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.22.42 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Club Wolverine’s Tristan Sanders came from lane seven to take the win in a 56.20.

Women’s 200 Breast

A-Finals: St Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis had an incredible swim in finals, cutting five seconds off her morning swim time (2:29.69) to take the win from Indiana’s Lily King, with a 2:24.68. King, who was seeded first going into the finals session also cut considerable time from her morning swim tonight. However, it wasn’t enough to hold off Margalis, and King’s 2:24.88 final time was only two tenths from the win. Third went to Auburn’s Annie Lazor, who just outtouched Club Wolverine’s Miranda Tucker, 2:27.43 to 2:27.47.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.33.51 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Boilermaker Aquatic’s Emily Fogle took the B-final win with a 2:31.78.

Men’s 200 Breast

A-Finals: Athens Bulldog’s Nic Fink maintained his 200 breaststroke dominance this evening, easily taking the win by nearly three seconds. Fink cut over a second from his morning swim time to post a 2:09.89 for the win. Second went to Carlos Claverie, who took over two seconds off of his morning time for a 2:12.50. Third went to Badger Swim Club’s Cody Miller, who made a brave push from lane two for the third position. Miller finished in a time of 2:12.74.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.41.31 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Singapore’s Lionel Khoo posted a 2:17.56 for the B-final win.

Women’s 400 Free

A-Finals: Leah Smith is now ranked second in the world in the 400 freestyle, only behind Olympic gold medalist Katie Ledecky. Smith’s 4:03.33 winning time bodes well for the upcoming Olympic Trials. Smith took almost two seconds off her preliminary 4:05.21 for the win. Second went to Swim Ontario’s Brittany Maclean (4:07.18), racing to the placing from out in lane seven. Badger Swim Club’s Lindsay Vrooman was a close third at a 4:07.32.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.49.01 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Swim Ontario’s Kennedy Gross took first in the B-Finals with a 4:15.37.

Men’s 400 Free

A-Finals: Club Wolverine’s Connor Jaeger maintained his top spot by cutting over three seconds from his prelims time to win the finals in a 3:49.45. Badger Swim Club’s Zane Grothe took second from lane six with a 3:50.20, while Wisconsin Aquatics’ Matthew Hutchins took third with a 3:52.54.

Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 4.55.15 PM

Photo Courtesy: OMEGA Timing

B-Finals: Singapore’s Sheng Jun Pang took the B-Final win with a 3:57.14 that would have placed him seventh overall.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x