2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Indianapolis: Day 1 Prelims Live Recap

2015-arena-pro-swim-series-minneapolis-venue (2)
Photo Courtesy: Madeline Olson

Arena Pro Swim Series editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

Everything you need to follow the first morning of action at the 2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Indianapolis. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

2016 Arena Pro Swim Series Indianapolis Day 1 Prelims – Results

Women’s 200 Freestyle

Leah Smith improved her 18th place world ranking with a quick 1:56.66 this morning. That swim bumps her to 14th in the world this year, and makes her the top seed for tonight’s finals. She also now stands as the eighth best American all time.

Melanie Margalis (1:59.24), Vien Nguyen (1:59.47), Hali Flickinger (1:59.90), and Brittany MacLeadn (1:59.99) also finished under two minutes this morning.

Allie Davis (2:00.02), Andrean Pinto (2:00.26), and Rebecca Postoll (2:00.53) complete tonight’s A final.

Second seed Shannon Vreeland scratched the event and did not swim this morning.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 9.30.44 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 200 Freestyle

Quah Zheng Wen, who just yesterday was named to the Singapore Olympic roster, led the way in the 200 freestyle this morning. He touched in 1:49.48.

Club Wolverine teammates Michael Wynalda and Michael Klueh finished second and third in 1:49.51 and 1:49.71. Michael Weiss touched fourth in 1:49.71 and Anders Nielsen (1:49.85) also finished under 1:50. Connor Jaeger (1:50.06), Jay Litherland (1:50.27), and Justin Glanda (1:50.47) round out tonight’s A final.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 9.59.13 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 100 Breaststroke

Louisville’s Andrea Cottrell posted the fastest time of the morning in 1:08.54. Just behind her, Annie Lazor out touched Melanie Margalis 1:08.58 to 1:08.59 as the two took the second and third seeds.

Zoe Bartel (1:09.01), Michah Lawrence (1:09.10), Miranda Tucker (1:09.30), Katharine Ross (1:09.48), and Emily Fogle (1:09.55) complete tonight’s A final.

Lilly King was a no show in the event where she holds the world’s second fastest time of the year.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 10.12.14 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 100 Breaststroke

Nic Fink rose to 13th in the world this year with his 59.93 to lead prelims this morning. Cody Miller (1:00.37) and Kevin Cordes (1:00.93) followed as the only other swimmers under 1:01.

Sam Tierney (1:01.65), Carlos Claverie (1:02.16), Tin Yionel Khoo (1:02.94), Calum Tait (1:03.09), and Anthony Albracht (1:03.33) will also race in tonight’s A final.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 10.23.37 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 100 Butterfly

Kelis Worrell sprinted well ahead of the field to take the 100 butterfly top seed. She clocked a 58.10. Though nearly a second off her world’s tenth, that still makes her the top seed by a second and a half.

Christian Bechtel (59.60) and Ivy Martin (59.90) were the only other swimmers under a minute.

Maggie MacNeil (1:00.17), Veronica Burchill (1:00.28), Hali Flickinger (1:00.32), Dana Grindall (1:00.56), and Bailey Nero (1:00.65) round out tonight’s A final.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 10.38.54 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 100 Butterfly

In his second swim of the morning, Zheng Wen posted a 52.89, to take another top seed.

Second went to Santo Condorelli in 53.32. Dylan Bosch (53.40) and Sean Campsie (53.81), followed, also under 54 seconds.

Albert Subirats (54.28), David Boland (54.48), Mack Darragh (54.51), and Joshua Quallen (54.43) also qualified for tonight’s A final.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 10.54.18 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Women’s 400 IM

Vien Nguyen was the top qualifier with her 4:44.40. Brooke Forde was not too far behind in 4:46.07. Emily Cameron qualified third with a 4:47.32.

Kaitlyn Jones and Rachael Bradford-Feldman touched one after another with times of 4:48.26 and 4:48.31. Lauren Edelman (4:49.23), Kathryn Painter (4:49.81), and Sharlene Brady (4:52.18) round out the top eight seeds.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 11.53.37 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Men’s 400 IM

University of Georgia teammates Jay Litherland and Gunnar Bentz were the top two qualifiers this morning. Litherland clocked in at 4:24.22, just ahead of Bentz in 4:24.59. Michael Weiss secured his second A final swim with a 4:25.67.

Ian Rainey (4:25.74), Nolan Tesone (4:26.20), Ryan Massey (4:26.45), Cameron Stitt (4:27.79), and Dylan Cudahy (4:28.52) will complete the A final tonight.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 11.59.41 AM

Photo Courtesy: Omega Timing

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 Freestyle
  • Men’s 200 Freestyle
  • Women’s 100 Breaststroke
  • Men’s 100 Breaststroke
  • Women’s 100 Butterfly
  • Men’s 100 Butterfly
  • Women’s 400 IM
  • Men’s 400 IM
Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial