Carthage, Wheaton Lead After Day Two Of CCIW

Photo Courtesy: Rose-Hulman Athletics

Finals of the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin started with the 800-yard freestyle relay. Illinois Wesleyan took the women’s race with a time of 7:35.54. The team consisted of Lauren Dineen-GriffinClaire Michael, Meg Stanley and Kristen Slaughter. Wheaton won the men’s relay by two-hundredths of a second. The team of Jacob Clement, Will McCauley, Daniel Deysher and Chris Dingfield posted a time of of 6:49.06.

The Wheaton women won the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:44.39. The team consisted of backstroker Erin Bagley, breaststroker Kayla Roberson, butterflier Kirsty Nitz and freestyler Hannah Rueger. Wheaton also won the men’s relay, posting a time of 1:31.38. The team was made up of backstroker Chris Szymczak, breaststroker Jon Lait, butterflier Clement and freestyler Jack O’Connor. 

Wheaton’s Katie Deysher took the women’s 400-yard individual medley. The senior posted a time of 4:26.89. McCauley took the men’s race with a time of 4:01.22.

In the women’s 100-yard butterfly, Nitz won with a time of 54.41. Rose-Hulman’s Orion Martin touched first in the men’s race. The senior posted a time of 48.36.

Slaughter took the women’s 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:52.37. She won by just over a tenth of a second. In the men’s race, Carthage’s Chris Russo touched first with a time of 1:40.58.

Bagley was first in the women’s 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:03.13. In the men’s event, Wheaton’s Elliot Penson touched first with a time of 56.08.

Nitz took home her second individual win of the day in the 100-yard backstroke. She posted a time of 55.96. Szymczak won the men’s race in 49.42.

Carthage is leading the men’s meet. Wheaton is ahead for the women’s.