New South Wales State Open Championships: Final Session Closes Curtain

SYDNEY, Australia, February 15. THE final session of long course meter swimming took place at the New South Wales State Open Championships held in Australia this weekend.

Jessicah Schipper opened the final session with a victory in the women's 200 fly. She hit the wall in 2:08.10, while Samantha Hamill (2:09.02) and Stephanie Rice (2:09.92) battled for second. Andrew Lauterstein, meanwhile, came within a second of his national record with a 51.81 to win the men's 100 fly. Lauterstein set the Australian standard with a 51.12 in Beijing. Adam Pine (53.04) and Garth Kates (53.58) completed the top three.

Tarnee White touched out Sarah Katsoulis, 31.09 to 31.12, to pick up the women's 50 breast title, while Kristy Morrison placed third in 32.30. Brenton Rickard followed with a 2:14.43 to win the men's 200 breast. Craig Calder (2:16.01) and Jeremy Meyer (2:19.03) finished second and third.

Bronte Barratt finished a strong meet with another win, this time with a 1:58.75 in the women's 200 free. Meagen Nay (1:59.52) joined her under 2:00, while Kelly Stubbins took third in 2:00.10. Eamon Sullivan continued his comeback from offseason surgery with a winning time of 22.31 in the men's 50 free. Matthew Abood (22.66) and Jonathon Newton (22.72) grabbed second and third.

Rice turned her women's 200 fly bronze into gold as she eased through the women's 200 IM with a time of 2:14.77. Sally Foster (2:15.22) and Emily Seebohm (2:15.45) rounded out the top three. Thomas Fraser-Holmes earned the men's 400 IM crown in 4:25.43. Stephen Parkes took second in 4:26.37, while Daniel Tranter placed third in 4:28.13.

Belinda Hocking snatched the women's 50 back title in 28.39, while Seebohm touched second in 28.84. Sophie Edington placed third in 28.87. Ashley Delaney earned the men's 100 back crown in 53.43, while Hayden Stoeckel (54.67) and Robert Hurley (55.63) placed second and third.

Theodore Pasialis won the distance event for the day with a 15:26.85 in the men's 1500 free. Christopher Ashwood (15:29.56) and Andrew Beato (15:36.23) claimed the other two podium spots.

In multi-disability events, Matt Levy won the men's 100 free in 1:02.42. Jacqueline Freney completed the women's 100 free in 1:10.01 for the win.

Comments Off on New South Wales State Open Championships: Final Session Closes Curtain

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here