NCAA Men’s Swimming: #1 Texas Defeats TCU

Fort Worth, TX – University of Texas senior John Eisler (Aloha, Ore. / Westview) captured his first two titles of the 1999-2000 season, winning both the one- and three-meter springboard diving events, to lead the No. 1 ranked Texas men’s swimming and diving team to a 125-92 victory over TCU on Friday night at Rickel Natatorium in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Longhorns claimed nine of the meet’s 13 events, inlcuding a sweep of the first seven competitions. The Texas 400-yard medley relay team of senior Bryan Jones (College Station, Texas / A&M Consolidated), junior Matt Ulrickson (Scottsdale, Ariz. / Saguaro), senior Mike Laitala (Richardson, Texas / Jesuit College Prep) and sophomore Leffie Crawford (Pacifica, Calif. / Junipero Serra) led off the meet with a victory for the Horns in the day’s first event.

Registering individual-event victories for head coach Eddie Reese’s Longhorns were junior Jamie Rauch (Houston, Texas / Cypress Creek), the 1,000-yard freestyle winner; freshman Jim Pullin (Munroe Falls, Ohio / Hawken Upper School), who claimed his first collegiate victory with a win in the 200-yard freestyle; freshman Chris Kemp (Southlake, Texas / Fort Worth Christian), who came home first in the 50-yard freestyle; sophomore Ryan Reich (Ford City, Pa. / Ford City), the 200-yard individual medley victor, senior Rob Jones (Englewood, Colo. / Cherry Creek), who won the 200-yard butterfly; and Laitala, who captured the 100-yard freestyle for Texas.

The Longhorns will return to action on Saturday as they travel to Dallas, Texas, to battle No. 14 SMU at 7 p.m. at Perkins Natatorium.

Comments Off on NCAA Men’s Swimming: #1 Texas Defeats TCU

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here