NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Florida’s Conor Dwyer Wins Second Title; Sets Pool Record

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 27. FLORIDA's Conor Dwyer won his second NCAA title in as many days.

Just a day after winning the 500 free, Dwyer checked in with a 1:32.31 for the men's 200 free victory. The clocking, the 10th fastest ever, made him the seventh fastest performer of all time. The win is Florida's second in a row, as Shaune Fraser won a year ago in 1:31.70. Fraser, meanwhile, gave Florida a 1-2 finish with a 1:32.53 tonight. The triumph is the fourth in Florida's history. Mike Heath won in 1984 with a 1:35.21, while Adam Sioui touched in 1:34.67 for the 2002 title.

"It was a good swim," Dwyer said. "I really tried to push that third 50 to try and win the race…trying now to move us up in the team scores."

Texas' Dave Walters, who won in 2008, settled for third overall with a 1:33.04. The Longhorns grabbed some serious points in the event as Scott Jostes (1:33.77) and Ricky Berens (1:33.98) finished fifth and sixth.

The effort put the Longhorns back in the lead with 254 points. California was a close second with 247.5 points, but will look to take back the lead with several strong events left on the docket. Florida (202), Arizona (171) and Auburn (164.5) sat in third, fourth and fifth.

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here