National Junior College Athletics Association National Championships: Indian River Sweeps Titles

BUFFALO, New York, March 5. INDIAN River State College completed a team title sweep at the National Junior College Athletics Association National Championships held in Buffalo, N.Y. The wins are the 37th and 30th straight men's and women's NJCAA team titles.

Indian River's women dominated the meet with 833 total points. Daytona State finished second overall with 668.5 points, while Lincoln grabbed third with 466 points. Darton (420.5) and Monroe (361) placed fourth and fifth.

The IRSC men left no doubt with an astonishing 1,000 points for the team title win. Daytona State earned second with 778 points, while Lincoln (564), Monroe (271) and Darton (264) completed the top five.

Lincoln's Maggie Rea captured the women's 1650 free in 17:25.12, while Iowa Central's Gwen Sorensen finished second in 17:37.35. Daytona State's Sara Akoubian earned third in 17:44.86. Indian River's John Ellis picked up the men's 1650 free title in 15:40.15. DSC's John Jessell (15:44.81) and IRSC's Lucas Akker (15:55.88) finished second and third.

IRSC went 1-2 in the women's 200 back. Katie Pheil won in 2:04.15, while Stephanie Doran placed second in 2:06.86. DSC's Megan Hawkins completed the top three in 2:14.72. Lincoln's Bryce Bohman nearly downed the NJCAA record in the men's 200 back with a winning 1:46.59. That swim just missed Matthew Spicer's 2001 mark of 1:46.47. IRSC's Harry Traystman touched second in 1:49.68, while DSC's Dylan Varner finished third in 1:50.39.

IRSC's Vanessa Hanbury snared the women's 100 free in 50.27, while Monroe's Mallory Morrell took second in 50.37. IRSC's Andrea Uzcategui wound up third in 51.87. IRSC's Nick Schuttinger snatched the men's 100 free title in 45.08. Lincoln's Gabriel Cury (45.57) and IRSC's Michael Lucchesi (45.93) completed the podium.

Indian River's Tryshia Centeno topped the women's 200 breast in 2:18.23. Teammate Katie Kittrell touched second in 2:21.74, while Lincoln's Sanrda Stopczynska finished third in 2:23.33. IRSC followed with a 1-2-3 effort in the men's 200 breast. Jared Pike (2:00.43), Joe Strauss (2:06.16) and Chandler Gerlach (2:06.75) swept the podium.

IRSC's Sarah D'Antoni cruised in the women's 200 fly with a triumphant time of 2:05.74. Darton's Linn Nordberg took second in 2:11.04, while IRSC's Annie Cohoat placed third in 2:11.90. DSC's Raymond DePadua clinched the men's 200 fly crown in 1:51.42, while IRSC's CJ Reall finished second in 1:51.50. IRSC's Max Abreu rounded out the top three in 1:52.34.

In relay action, IRSC's Vanessa Hanbury, Andrea Uzcategui, Natalie Lenderman and Celeste Degen topped the women's 400 free relay in 3:27.95. Indian River's Nick Schuttinger, Robbie Swan, Michael Lucchesi and Harry Traystman captured the men's 400 free relay in 3:00.32.

Comments Off on National Junior College Athletics Association National Championships: Indian River Sweeps Titles

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here