The American record in the 200m breaststroke fell in two successive heats this afternoon, during prelims of the men's NCAA Swimming Championships. In heat 4, the defending champion, Dave Denniston, of Auburn, stroked 2:08.16, to lower Eric Wunderlich's 1993 standard of 2:08.49. In the following heat, Ed Moses, who set a world record in the 100m breaststroke last night, slicked .09 off Denniston's time, his 2:08.07 becoming the new American record. The two record swims set up a terrific final tonight, with both swimmers setting their sights on Russia's Roman Sloudnov's world record of 2:07.59, set just six days ago.
Ryosuke Imai, USC, was third in prelims at 2:10.65, followed by Valery Kalmikovs, Nebraska (2:10.71); Jeff Hackler, Minnesota (2:10.74); Nuk Sirisanont, Cal (2:10.95); Jeff Hopwood, Michigan and Sean Quinn, North Carolina, tied for seventh (2:11.87).
B finalists are: Rob Canales, Stanford; Scott Werner, Michigan; Dov Malnik, Minnesota; Justin Caron, Auburn; Philip Norris, Florida; David Slawinski, North Carolina; Mike Pron, Pittsburgh; and Alex Lopez, Florida.

Moses swimming to victory

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here