M&M Win World Cup Crowns — That’s Moses and Moravcova

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, February 9. THE FINA Swimming World Cup in short course (25m) came to an end Saturday and Sunday in Rio de Janeiro with the eighth and last meeting of 2003/2004.

American Ed Moses and Slovakian Martina Moravcova won the overall winners of this competition, achieving the best men's and women's performances according to the FINA scoring table, which allows each time to be recorded whatever the event taking place*.

Martina won the women's trophy with her 1007 points obtained thanks to her 100m butterfly race in 56.90 in Stockholm on January 13.

Ed Moses took the men's crown with an even more brilliant performance, 2:02.92 in the 200m breaststroke, a world record, established on January 17 in Berlin, the equivalent of 1041 points.

During this World Cup, three other women’s world records were beaten: two by the Australian Leisel Jones (1:05.09, 100m breaststroke, and 2:17.75, 200m breaststroke, November 28 and 29, 2003 in Melbourne), one by the Chinese Yu Yang (2:04.04, 200m butterfly, last January 28 in Berlin).

These four records are pending to the FINA ratification.

From Melbourne to Daejon, Durban to Moscow, Stockholm to Berlin, and from New York to Rio de Janeiro, the best swimmers were able to compete and to prepare the greatest rendezvous of this year, the Games of the 28th Olympiad.

Podiums of the World Cup 2003/2004*
1. Martina Moravcova (SVK) 1007 pts (100m butterfly in 56.90, in Stockholm)
2. Camelia Potec (ROM) 996 pts (400m free in 4:02.00 in Berlin)
3. Yana Klochkova (UKR) 991 pts (200m medley in 2:09.75 in Rio)

1. Ed Moses (USA) 1041 pts (200m breaststroke in 2:02.92,
in Berlin)
2. Jason Lezak (USA) 1000 pts (100m free in 46.98 in New York)
3. Ryk Neethling (RSA) 993 pts (400m free in 3:39.91 in Berlin)

Comments Off on M&M Win World Cup Crowns — That’s Moses and Moravcova

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue