Michigan LP Boys High School State Championships

By Sarah Eckersley

YPSILANTI/HOLLAND/ROCHESTER, Michigan, March 21. ANN Arbor Pioneer (Division 1), Zeeland (Division 2), and Hamilton (Division 3) walked away with state titles at the Michigan LP Boys State Championships.

Division 1 Results
Ann Arbor Pioneer secured first place with 364 points, followed by Ann Arbor Huron (226) and Grandville (200).

Grandville won two of three relays. Jason Bergsma, Sam Hoekstra, Tyler Bergsma, and Nate Beld clocked a time of 1:35.46 for a first-place finish in the 200 medley relay. Hoekstra also won the 50 (20.41) and 100 (44.46) freestyles.

Sophomore Nick Nemetz (Pioneer) won the diving competition with a score of 451.25. Darrin Driesenga (West Ottawa) and Kevin Bain (Northville) followed with scores of 425.45 and 411.70 respectively.

Grant Cole, Kevin Naud, Nik Mrdalj, and Matt Gauthier (Ann Arbor Pioneer) combined for a win in the 200 freestyle relay (1:25.82).

Ann Arbor Huron's Michael Swain had individual wins in the 200 IM (1:52.52) and the 100 breaststroke (58.20).

Mike Wynalda (Grandville) won the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:39.13. He teamed up with Beld, J. Bergsma, and Hoekstra to close the meet with a first-place finish in the 400 freestyle relay (3:07.09).

Division 2 Results
Zeeland and Birmingham Groves went head-to-head at the Division 2 Championships. Zeeland came out on top with 285 points, followed closely by Birmingham Groves (282) and Battle Ceek Lakeview (240).

Birmingham Groves won the 200 medley with a time of 1:36.41. Nick McGowan, Tyler Howe, Tripp Crosthwaite, and Nick Crosthwaite contributed to the win. McGowan also won the 100 backstroke (52.03).

Grosse Pointe South senior Jordan Long won the diving competition (537.00), followed by John Santeiu of University of Detroit Jesuit (506.80), and Eric Rancour of Bay City Western (418.35).

Clay Youngquist (Battle Creek Lakeview) won the 200 (1:39.01) and 500 (4:28.38) freestyles. He teamed up with Josh Mauk, Collin Heitfeld, and Blake Tindol in the 200 freestyle relay. The quartet clocked a meet record time of 1:24.71.

Holland's Eric Solis won the 100 freestyle (45.69) and the 200 IM. He exceeded Randy Lam's (University of Detroit Jesuit) 2000 All-Class record with a time of 1:49.22.

Zeeland's Josh Geschwendt, Zac Kraai, Jason Vander Plaats, and Drew Coffin set a meet record in the 400 freestyle relay (3:05.19). Coffin also won the 50 freestyle with a time of 21.06.

Division 3 Results
It was a close meet between Hamilton and Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood. Hamilton won with 247 points, while Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood placed second (242) and Grand Rapids Christian settled in third (198).

Cranbrook Kingswood's Alex Hogan, Matt Hogan, Hubert Yi, and George Post set a meet record in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:36.10. M. Hogan had dual individual wins. He won the 100 freestyle (45.17) and set a meet record in the 200 IM (1:52.80).

Nick Buricaga of West Catholic set a pool record in the diving competition with a score of 471.25. Bloomfield Hills Lahser's Mark Reedy took second (414.90) and Grand Rapids Christian's Dallas Hansen finished third (399.45).

Hamilton won the 200 freestyle relay. The group of Austin Fathman, Joey De Good, John LaPora, and Jack Lepird clocked a time of 1:27.73.

Senior Jordan Moses (Hamilton) set meet records in the 100 butterfly (51.22) and the 100 backstroke (52.13).

Tae Su Yi, H. Yi, Riley Sherer, and M. Hogan closed the meet with a first-place finish in the 400 freestyle relay (3:12.39).

Please note: We intentionally post only two-three high school state championship recaps each day during championship seasons to make sure that each state gets its time to shine on our site. If you are waiting for a particular meet recap to show up, please be patient. Thank you for your understanding.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here