Men’s NCAA Div. I Championships: Steve Segerlin Wins the 10-meter Diving, Clinches the Crown for Auburn

By Phillip Whitten

ATLANTA, Georgia, March 25. THERE’S a reason why they call it the NCAA Swimming AND Diving Championships, and Arizona discovered that reason to its sorrow this weekend.

Auburn’s Steve Segerlin had already finished third on the two springboard events, scoring 32 points – six more than Auburn’s margin over Arizona at this time.

Now he was competing on the 10-meter platform — his best event — with a chance to clinch the title for the Tigers. All he needed to do was finish fourth or higher.

Segerlin responded brilliantly.

The diving quickly developed into a two-man contest between Segerlin and Georgia’s Chris Colwill, winner of both the one- and three-meter springboard contests the past two evenings.

The head-to-head competition seemed to bring out the best in both men.

Colwill led through the first three rounds, scoring 80.85 and 81.0 points on his second and third dives with mostly 8’s and 8.5’s. In those same rounds, Segerlin responded with awards of 76 and 75.9 points. Then, in the fourth round, he uncorked a 90.10-point effort, scoring straight nines, giving him a 7-point lead over Colwill.

Colwill came in with a 74-point dive in Round 5, but Segerlin countered with a beautiful 3-1/2 tuck for 76 points, extending his lead to nine.

On the final dive, Colwill scored 70.40 points. The ball was in Segerlin’s court and he responded by saving the best for last: a beautiful 2-1/2 somersault, 1-1/2 twist in pike position (DD: 3.4). He nailed it, scoring 86.70 points.

Segerlin wound up with 469.30 points to Colwill’s 443.95. His 20 points gave Auburn a 46-point lead to clinch thee title for Auburn.

NCAA Division I Champ. Meet 3/25/2006 – 21:10PM
NCAA Men's D1 Championships – 3/23/2006 to 3/25/2006

Event 20 Men Platform Diving
Name Year School Prelims Finals Points
=== Finals ===

1 Segerlin, Steven Auburn 428.40 469.30 20
2 Colwill, Chris Georgia 378.25 443.95 17
3 Lobue, Steve Purdue 293.85 349.60 16
4 Wiktorsson, Mats Hawaii 318.75 347.55 15
5 Sehn, Eric Texas A&M 394.05 333.45 14
6 DeMond, Kent Princeton 317.35 322.10 13
7 Stowers, Evan Georgia Tech 300.10 310.70 12
8 Fagan, Ryan Indiana 294.00 300.40 11

=== Preliminaries ===

9 Ashworth, Aaron Alabama 291.60 8
9 Jenkins, Kenny Southern Cal. 291.60 8
11 Hilde, Michael Southern Cal. 289.95 6
12 Dalman, Niko Louisiana State 289.35 5
13 Watters, Evan Mizz 273.85 4
14 Dumais, Dwight Stanford 267.05 3
15 Wilcox, Jonathan Florida 264.00 2
16 Roberts, Taylor Indiana 258.30 1
17 Gouzeev, Genya Georgia 251.80

Comments Off on Men’s NCAA Div. I Championships: Steve Segerlin Wins the 10-meter Diving, Clinches the Crown for Auburn

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here