Kane Radford, Melissa Gorman Claim Top Prizes at RCP Tiburon Mile

TIBURON, California, September 18. AT THE RCP Tiburon Mile, New Zealand's Kane Radford and Australia's Melissa Gorman claimed the men's and women's titles at the 12th annual edition of the contest.

Radford beat Codie Grimsey to the punch in the men's race, 18:58 to 19:01, to capture the $10,000 winner-takes-all cash prize. Ryan Napoleon wound up taking third among the men with a 19:19 effort. Gorman, meanwhile, beat out Ashley Twichell, 19:20 to 19:40, for the women's $10,000 prize. Christine Jennings finished third in 19:54.

After a year when Jennings and Chip Peterson won the 2010 event, Gorman and Radford returned to reclaim their 2009 titles.

Swimming World produced a live Race Day event with Mike Lewis of Open Water Source providing on site reporting. Make sure to check out our home page to watch reruns of the live show.

Top 10 Results:

1. Kane Radford 18:58
2. Codie Grimsey 19:01
3. Ryan Napoleon 19:19
4. Eric Nilsson 19:36
5. Vincent Donnely 19:41
6. Michael Sheil 19:55
7. Bradley Cline 20:07
8 Mohamed Serour 20:34
9. Sam Metz 20:38
10. Trent Grimsey 20:42

1. Melissa Gorman 19:20
2. Ashley Twichell 19:40
3. Christine Jennings 19:54
4. Emily Brunemann 19:57
5. Brooke Lorentzen 20:30
6. Liane Rowe 20:39
7. Catherine Breed 20:41
8. Caitlin Leverenz 21:01
9. Monica Dudley 21:22
10. Taylor Narfria 21:27

Comments Off on Kane Radford, Melissa Gorman Claim Top Prizes at RCP Tiburon Mile

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here