Junior National Championships: 100 Butterfly Meet Record Falls to Connor Black

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana, August 15. THIS year's Junior National Championships has given swimming fans the opportunity to watch some incredible swims. This morning's prelims were no exception. Spectators witnessed a meet record fall to Connor Black in the men's 100 butterfly. Ryan Gillian is poised to double up her freestyle wins and take the meet record in the 400 freestyle tonight. Likewise, Michelle Cefal has the opportunity to sweep the women's butterfly events.

400 freestyle:
800 freestyle winner Ryan Gillian, of North Baltimore Aquatics, took the top finals spot in the 400 freestyle this morning. Gillian, entered with a 4:07.27 seed time, over three seconds faster than the meet record (4:10.37), posted in 2009 by Fort Lauderdale's Lauren Driscoll, went a 4:13.41 this morning, still nearly five seconds ahead of second-place qualifier Allison Brown of the Pleasanton Seahawks. Brown, who went a 4:18.28 this morning, placed second in the 400IM last night, and third in the 800 freestyle on the first night of finals. Eagle Swim Team's Katelyn Sowinski placed third for finals, with a 4:19.36, about a half-second off her best time. Connecticut's Jessica Hespeler dropped over four seconds, posting a 4:21.02 and taking lane one in finals. Alexandra Malazdrewicz, of Una Ever, also took several seconds off (4:21.18), and will compete tonight out of lane eight.

The entire finals field is as follows:
Lane 1: Jessica Hespeler — CAC-CT (4:21.02)
Lane 2: Taylor Katz — Sarasota YMCA (4:19.47)
Lane 3: Katelyn Sowinski — Eagle Swim Team (4:19.36)
Lane 4: Ryan Gillian — North Baltimore (4:07.27)
Lane 5: Allison Brown — Pleasanton Seahawks (4:18.28)
Lane 6: Cecilia Williams — Area Tallahassee (4:19.47)
Lane 7: Marissa Brown — Pleasanton Seahawks (4:20.53)
Lane 8: Alexandra Malazdrewicz — Una Ever (4:21.18)

The men's 400 freestyle will be an exciting race in finals, with only three seconds separating the field. Three of the eight finalist were top-eight mile finalists. Nadador Janardana Burns placed fourth in the mile, but qualified first in the 400 tonight after swimming a 3:58.02, about two seconds off his best. Dayton Raider's Clifford Goertemiller shaved off some time, clocking a 3:59.19. He beat Burns by one one-hundredth in the mile the first night, placing third in the event. Goertemiller's teammate Brock Turner had a two-and-a-half second drop this morning, qualifying third with a 3:59.20. Cameron Stitt, of the Tualatin Hills, is the third top-eight mile finalist in the 400 field, competing out of lane seven.

The entire finals field is as follows:
Lane 1: Lance Rutkin — Swim Fort Lauderdale (4:01.01)
Lane 2: Samuel Smiddy — AK Sharks (4:00.08)
Lane 3: Brock Turner — Dayton Raiders (3:59.20)
Lane 4: Janardana Burns — Mission Viejo Nadadores (3:58.02)
Lane 5: Clifford Goertemiller — Dayton Raiders (3:5.19)
Lane 6: James Yoder — Stingrays (3:59.97)
Lane 7: Cameron Stitt — Tualatin Hills (4:00.55)
Lane 8: Martin Wallace — North Jeffco Swim (4:01.10)

100 butterfly:
Expect a tight race in the women's 100 butterfly tonight. 200 butterfly champion Michelle Cefal, of the Tualatin Hills, nearly broke the minute mark this morning, clocking a 1:00.03, earning the middle lane in finals. Nadador Kathryn McLaughlin placed third in the 200 fly the first night of finals, and is seeded second tonight with a 1:00.43. Dana Grindall, of SoNoCo, takes lane three, posting a 1:01.21 this morning, about a second off her best.

The entire finals field is as follows:
Lane 1: Hannah Weiss — King Aquatic Club (1:01.77)
Lane 2: Ella Eastin — Irvine Novaquatics (1:01.60)
Lane 3: Dana Grindall — SoNoCo (1:01.21)
Lane 4: Michelle Cefal — Tualatin Hills (1:00.03)
Lane 5: Kathryn McLaughlin — Mission Viejo Nadadores (1:00.43)
Lane 6: Lauren Case — Chattahoochee (1:01.40)
Lane 7: Bailey Nero — Fort Collins (1:01.73_
Lane 8: Meaghan Raab — Hershey Aquatics (1:01.82)

CAT's Connor Black took the 100 butterfly meet record this morning, swimming a 53.21, bettering the 53.21 set by Neil O'Halloran in 2009. This earned him top standing for finals tonight, and a chance to better his own mark. Second tonight goes to Santo Condorelli, of the Bolles School, shaving several tenths off this morning with a 54.04. Duneland's Aaron Whitaker and Matthew Josa of SwimMAC tied for third-place standing tonight, both clocking a 54.42, a time improvement for both swimmers.

The entire finals field is as follows:
Lane 1: Justin Lynch — Terrapins Swim Club (54.75)
Lane 2: Michael Domagala — Asphalt Green (54.44)
Lane 3: Aaron Whitaker — Duneland (54.42)
Lane 4: Connor Black — Cats Aquatic Team (53.21)
Lane 5: Santo Condorelli — Bolles School (54.04)
Lane 6: Matthew Josa — SwimMAC (54.42)
Lane 7: Clark Smith — Denver Swim Academy (54.54)
Lane 8: Andrew Selsikar — CUBU-PV (55.22)

Check out more of Peter Bick's photos from the Junior Nationals Photo Gallery, like the one below:

Comments Off on Junior National Championships: 100 Butterfly Meet Record Falls to Connor Black

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue