Hoosier Men Steamroll Orange Bowl Classic; LaSalle Ladies Likewise Dominant

KEY LARGO, FL, December 31. INDIANA University’s No. 13 ranked men's swimming squad picked up its second invitational win of the season with the Orange Bowl Classic title on Dec. 30 at the Jacobs Aquatic Center in Key Largo, Florida, per IU sources.

The Cream and Crimson won the meet with 1,023.50 points, while La Salle took second with a 606.50 tally and Babson finished in third with 124 points. La Salle beat the Babson women.

Overall, Indiana claimed nine of the 12 events in the sprint-style short course meter (SCM) format. Individually, junior Sergiy Fesenko, senior Murph Halasz and freshman Ben Hesen paced IU with two event crowns each. Additionally, freshman Todd Patrick, sophomore Drew Ossakow, junior Hank Baldwin and freshman John Kevin Koehler concluded the day in a big way with an NCAA provisional qualifier in the 200 SCM freestyle relay with a first-place time of 1:29.81.

"We expected the win," Head Coach Ray Looze said. "When you have the 13th-ranked team in the country going against unranked teams, that is what is going to happen. Our ultimate goal this year is to win the Big Ten title, and we were able to accomplish some things today that are important to achieve that objective."

The Cream and Crimson opened up the meet with a top-three sweep of the 200 SCM medley relay as Hesen, Swander, Halasz and sophomore Colin Russell picked up the title in 1:45.91. Patrick, Baldwin, junior Thomas Clavier and sophomore Lee Houchin placed second in 1:46.39, while junior Mike Jones, freshman Ronnie Hehn, sophomore Kyle Ruth and senior David Winck finished in third in 1:50.23.

In the 400 SCM freestyle, the Hoosier accomplished a top-trio again as Fesenko won the event in 4:01.28, with Russell at 4:04.99 and Koehler third in 4:05.50.

Indiana then swept the 50 SCM butterfly medals when Winck swam 25.07, Hesen posted 25.90 and Patrick placed third in 26.11.

IU took the 100 SCM backstroke off, and La Salle acquired the top three scoring positions as sophomore Mike Ellerson won the event in 1:02.72. Senior Frank Eaton placed second in 1:02.94, while sophomore Matt Ainsworth finished in third in 1:03.69.

In the 50 SCM breaststroke, Indiana returned to the fray with its fourth top-three feat. Hesen won in 30.57, while Patrick took second in 30.60 and Baldwin placed third in 30.67.

Freshman Alex Brunfeldt captured the 100 SCM freestyle crown with a first-place 55.18 as the lone IU representative in the event.

LaSalle picked up the 100 SCM butterfly when the Hoosiers again chose to pass on the event. Freshman Eli Field claimed the title in 1:02.15.

In the 50 SCM backstroke, the Hoosiers returned with another sweep. Halasz came in first in 28.01, Swander 28.74 for second and sophomore Scott Tanner third in 28.92.

In the 100 SCM breaststroke IU again sat out and LaSalle freshman Grant Chin won the event in 1:12.16. Babson picked up a medal this time when Mike Stenman placed second in 1:13.61.

In the 50 SCM freestyle, Houchin (24.79), Hesen (25.09) and Ruth (25.21) locked down the top-three spots for Indiana's sixth sweep before Fesenko (2:08.75), Winck (2:12.56) and Haley (2:14.77) seized the top spots in the 200 SCM IM for IU's seventh sweep.

Indiana closed out the second annual competition with its eighth sweep. Patrick, Ossakow, Baldwin and Koehler cleared the B-cut standard in the 200 SCM freestyle relay with a first-place 1:29.81, while Houchin, Swander, Hesen and senior Richard Bryant took second in 1:37.59. Meanwhile, Ruth, Winck, senior Brian Ellsworth and sophomore Paul Sigfusson placed third in 1:39.15.

Next up, No. 13 Indiana plays host to No. 11 Tennessee on Jan. 7, 2005, at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington at noon. The meet will mark the final home meet appearance for IU seniors Richard Bryant, Alex Burns, Marc Carlton, Brian Ellsworth, Murph Halasz, Niles Madison, Brian Metzler and David Winck.

Comments Off on Hoosier Men Steamroll Orange Bowl Classic; LaSalle Ladies Likewise Dominant

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue