Gold Medalist Brittany Elmslie Last-Minute Replacement of Injured Blair Evans for Super Series in Australia

PERTH, Australia, January 3. LONDON Olympic relay gold medallist Brittany Elmslie has been called into the EnergyAustralia Swim Team to replace an injured Blair Evans for the BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series to be held in Perth from January 18-19.

The 18-year-old Elmslie is expected to swim the 4x200m freestyle relay and possibly the 200m butterfly, following Evans withdrawal from the meet due to a shoulder injury.

Joining up with fellow 4x100m freestyle relay gold medallists Alicia Coutts, Cate Campbell and Melanie Schlanger, Elmslie is in good form having performed well at the Queensland State Championships in December

Swimming Australia Head Coach Leigh Nugent said she will be a valuable addition to the 30-strong EnergyAustralia Swim Team for the two-day meet against China and South Africa.

“Brittany swam two very strong 200m freestyles in Queensland last month, off the back of real breakout year in 2012,” said Nugent.

“While it's disappointing for Blair that she won't be able to swim in front of her home crowd in Perth, the decision to withdraw her from the event has been made with an eye towards her being fully fit for the EnergyAustralia Swimming Championships in April.”

For Elmslie, who was awarded the Australian Sports Commission Discovery of the Year at the 2012 EnergyAustralia Swimmer of the Year Awards, the chance to swim in Perth is something she's looking forward to.

“Anytime you get the opportunity to represent your country it is an honour and something to be grateful for,” said Elmslie.

“The BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series is an exciting event and I am looking forward to taking part and hopefully performing well.”

“I was pleased with my swims at the Queensland State Championships before Christmas and I see this event as another chance to practice all the things I have been working on in training with my coach Matt Brown.”

The EnergyAustralia Swim Team for BHP Billiton Aquatic Super Series in Perth is as follows:

MEN: Daniel Arnamnart (NSW), Ashley Delaney (VIC), Thomas Fraser-Holmes (QLD), Jayden Hadler (NSW), Mitchell Larkin (QLD), James Magnussen (NSW), David McKeon (NSW), Kenrick Monk (QLD), Ryan Napoleon (QLD), Brenton Rickard (QLD), James Roberts (QLD), Christian Sprenger (QLD), Matthew Targett (VIC), Daniel Tranter (NSW), Chris Wright (QLD)
WOMEN: Bronte Barratt (QLD), Cate Campbell (QLD), Bronte Campbell (QLD), Alicia Coutts (QLD), Brittany Elmslie (QLD), Sally Foster (SA), Samantha Hamill (QLD), Belinda Hocking (VIC), Sarah Katsoulis (VIC), Yolane Kukla (QLD), Meagen Nay (QLD), Kylie Palmer (QLD), Leiston Pickett (QLD), Melanie Schlanger (QLD), Emily Seebohm (QLD)

People's Republic of China Swim Team:
A clear swimming superpower, China won 10 swimming medals at the 2012 London Olympic Games, including five gold, two of which went to 16-year-old Ye Shiwen. At the 2011 World Championships in Shanghai the People's Republic of China Swim Team won 15 medals, second only to the USA on 17. With four current individual world record holders, and a host of young talent spurred on by recent success, China will provide outstanding opposition for the EnergyAustralia Swim Team and South Africa at the 2013 BHP Aquatic Super Series.

MEN: Cheng Feiyi, Li Xiayan, Zhou Jiawei, Lv Zhiwu, Xu Jiayu, Huang Yunkun, Chen Yin, Liu Weija, Shi Tengfei, Hao Yun, Li Yunqi, Dai Jun, Shi Yang
WOMEN: Zhao Jing, Zhao Jin, Lu Ying, Tang Yi, Fu Yuanhui, He Yun, Jiao Liuyang, Liu Zige, Xu Danlu, Shao Yiwen, Ye Shiwen, Bai Anqi, Yao Yige, Pang Jiaying, Wang Haibing, Chen Xinyi

South African Swim Team:
The winner of two gold medals at the London Olympic Games, South Africa has a proud history in the sport with names such as Penny Heynes, Roland Schoeman, Jonty Skinner, Cameron Van Der Burgh and now Chad Le Clos setting the standard. In 2012, Chad Le Clos became a household name when he defeated Michael Phelps for gold in the men's 200m butterfly at the London Olympics while Cameron Van Der Burgh won gold in the world record time in the men's 100m breaststroke.

MEN: Alaric Basson, Devon Brown, Bryon Doyle, Calvyn Justus, Charl Crous, Chad Le Clos, Darren Murray, Roland Schoeman, Leith Shankland, Aryton Sweeney, Garth Tune, Neil Versfeld, Jan Petrus Van Der Merwe, Giulio Zorzi
WOMEN: Jessica Ashley-Cooper, Marne Erasmus, Kelly Gunnel, Lehesta Kemp, Trudi Maree, Vanessa Mohr, Tara-Lynn Nicholas, Jessica Pengelly, Kyna Pereira, Karin Prinsloo, Marlies Ross, Suzaan Van Biljon, Nathania Van Niekerk, Rene Warnes, Michelle Weber

The above article is a press release submitted to Swimming World Magazine. It has been posted in its entirety without editing. Swimming World offers all outlets the chance to reach our audience by contacting us at However, Swimming World reserves the right to choose what material is posted.

Comments Off on Gold Medalist Brittany Elmslie Last-Minute Replacement of Injured Blair Evans for Super Series in Australia

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue