Emily McClellan, Ivy Martin Pick Up Wins At Iowa Sectionals

IOWA CITY, Iowa, July 19. WISCONSIN Aquatics extended its lead in the team standings to almost 800 points, while Ashlyn Schoof swept the backstroke events during the third night of finals at the Speedo Champions Series sectional meet at the University of Iowa Aquatic Center. Collegiate standouts Emily McClellan and Ivy Martin also recorded wins on the second to last day of the meet.

After winning the 100 back last night, Schoof made it a sweep with a win in the 200 back tonight. Schoof touched in 2:15.46 to top Nasa Wildcat’s Lacey Locke (2:17.21) and Cyclone Swim Club’s Marissa Engel (2:18.33). Wisconsin Aquatics’ Andrew Teduits won the men’s race in 2:01.33, just over a second in front of Schroeder YMCA’s Carl Newenhouse (2:02.44). Cole Bateman of Hutchinson Swim Club rounded out the top three in 2:03.57.

In the women’s 400 free final, Barrington’s Kirsten Jacobsen denied Ozaukee’s Katherine Drabot another title by just three one-hundredths as Jacobsen took the win, 4:15.53 to 4:15.56. Morgan Dickson of Patriot Aquatic Club placed third in 4:19.19. Wisconsin Aquatics’ Matthew Hutchins had a bit more cushion in the men’s 400 free final as he touched first by three seconds in 3:54.63, with teammate Nicholas Caldwell in second at 3:57.84. Clayton Smith of Minnesota Aquatics hit the wall third in 3:59.00.

A trio of swimmers cleared 1:10 in the women’s 100 breast final, led by University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee standout Emily McClellan. McClellan posted a 1:09.07, while University of Missouri sophomore Katharine Ross touched second in 1:09.29. Haley Spencer of Minnesota Aquatics got to the wall third in 1:09.32. Club Hawkeye’s Michael Nelson got to the wall ahead of New York Athletic Club’s Joshua Hall in the men’s final, 1:03.24 to 1:03.64. Corey Lau of Minnetonka also broke 1:04 with a 1:03.67 for third.

Ivy Martin of Wisconsin Aquatics topped the women’s 100 fly field with a time of 1:00.51, four tenths in front of Minnesota’s Tori Simenec (1:00.90). Hannah Saiz of the Schroeder YMCA came in third with a 1:01.12. Meanwhile, Connor Black of Illinois won the men’s race in convincing fashion, touching in 53.10 to beat Nicholas Peterson (54.62) of the Schroeder YMCA comfortably. Byron Butler of Dubuque swam a 55.26 to finish third.

Wisconsin Aquatics claimed the women’s 800 free relay in 8:19.02 thanks to great swims by Aja Van Hout, Ivy Martin, Dana Grindall and Alexandria Frasier. Cheryl Xiang, Julia Wawer, Erin Falconer and Reilly Lanigan gave Patriot Aquatic Club a second place finish with an 8:22.80, while Ozaukee Aquatics’ Katherine Drabot, Autumn Haebig, Skylar Fore and Natalie Johnson took third in 8:25.81. Wisconsin Aquatics also won the men’s relay, as Matthew Hutchins, Nicholas Caldwell, Travis Thompson and Sean Maloney posted a time of 7:31.81. Wisconsin’s B team of Brett Pinfold, Damon Zito, Joshua Anderson and Harrison Tran took second in 7:42.06, while New Trier’s Denver Freeman, Murphy McQuet, Connor Fotsch and Matthew Weiser rounded out the top three in 7:53.77.

Results For: Iowa Sectionals, Day Three

Comments Off on Emily McClellan, Ivy Martin Pick Up Wins At Iowa Sectionals

Author: Emily Sampl

Emily Sampl, an editorial assistant for Swimming World Magazine, is a freelance writer for USA Swimming and an assistant coach at Boulder High School and Boulder Elks Swim Team in Colorado. Emily graduated with a bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Colorado and master's degree in sport administration from the University of Northern Colorado.

Current Swimming World Issue