Danish Short Course Championships: Mads Glaesner, Lotte Friis Clock Fast Times

BRONSHOJ, Denmark, December 3. DURING the second night of swimming at the Danish Short Course Championships, Mads Glaesner and Lotte Friis enjoyed particularly strong swims.

Mads Glaesner raced to a win in the men's 800 free with a 7:42.17. That effort is the top-ranked swim in the event in the world this year, well ahead of Lucas Kanieski's 7:47.62 from the Rio stop of the World Cup. Anders Lie took second in 7:51.40, while Frans Johannessen placed third in 8:12.44.

Lotte Friis dominated the women's 400 free with a time of 4:09.06. Friis' top time this year is an eighth-ranked 4:02.60 from the Stockholm stop of the World Cup. Pernille Blume finished second in 4:13.11, while Mie Nielsen touched third in 4:15.52.

Rikke Moeller Pedersen turned in a strong time in the women's 100 breast with a 1:05.98. That swim came up just short of her fifth-ranked season best of 1:05.70 set at the Stockholm stop of the World Cup. Josephina Bartela (1:09.54) and Julie Leth-Espensen (1:10.33) placed second and third.

Pernille Larsen snagged the women's 200 back title in 2:06.38. That effort moved her up to 18th in the world rankings. Friis took her second podium with a second-place 2:13.79, while Sabrina Wielsoe placed third in 2:15.49.

Daniel Skaaning topped the men's 200 IM in 2:01.73. Viktor Bromer touched a distant second in 2:02.13, while Mads Jensen finished third in 2:03.68. Skaaning doubled up with a 1:46.94 in the men's 200 free. Nikolai Kirketerp-Moeller finished second in 1:47.61. Magnus Westermann took third in 1:49.79.

Katrine Holm Sorensen cruised to victory in the women's 200 IM with a 2:12.75, while Julie Leth-Espensen finished second in 2:16.13. Sidse Kehlet earned third-place honors in 2:17.39.

Jakob Andkjaer won the men's 50 fly in 23.88. Morten Klarskov (24.08) and Jonas Sorensen (24.68) rounded out the podium. Jeanette Ottesen snared the women's 50 fly title in 25.70, short of her fourth-ranked season best of 25.49 from the Stockholm stop of the World Cup. Kristina Thomsen earned second in 26.99, while Pernille Juel finished third in 27.38.

Morten Klarskov captured the men's 100 breast in 1:00.55, while Chris Christensen finished just behind in 1:00.77. Emil Klingberg completed the top three in 1:01.24. Kristian Outinen won the men's 50 back in 25.03. Anders Jensen (25.14) and Andreas Schiellerup (25.54) finished second and third.

Comments Off on Danish Short Course Championships: Mads Glaesner, Lotte Friis Clock Fast Times

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here