Breeja Larson Chases 200 Breast Record in Finals

HOUSTON, Texas, November 17. BREEJA Larson had the crowd in anticipation of a third American record at the Phill Hansel Invite, but was unable to lower her 200-yard breaststroke mark in tonight's finals.

Larson, who swam a 2:04.48 in this morning's prelims, returned to post a 2:04.93 in finals. That's the fourth-fastest performance in history, and gives Larson two swims under the 2:05 barrier. Teammate Ashley McGregor got into the wall in second with a 2:08.79, while Nikki Daniels of Arkansas was third with a 2:10.73.

Cammile Adams, a 2012 Olympian in the 200 butterfly and the 2012 NCAA runner-up in the event, won that race tonight with a 1:53.97, far and away the fastest swim of the collegiate season so far. Adams' lifetime best is a 1:52.40 from the NCAAs. Placing second in the event was A&M teammate Caroline McElhany, who posted a 1:55.90, not far off her lifetime best of 1:55.15. Louisiana State's Sara Haley was third with a 1:57.80.

Texas A&M's Sarah Henry, who impressed on the first two days of the meet with sterling swims in the 200 and 500 free, as well as the 400 IM, won the 1650 free tonight with a 15:51.28. That's the first swim under 16 minutes so far this season. Teammate Maureen McLaine finished second with a 16:04.52, while Arkansas' Lauren Jordan placed third with a 16:15.03.

Texas A&M men elected to skip finals tonight. In the men's mile. Craig Hamilton of LSU finished first with a 15:14.67, with Wyoming's Ryan Nelson placing second with a 15:37.77. Teammate Kevin Waller was third in 15:53.53.

Texas A&M's Tess Simpson won the women's 200 back with a 1:54.25. SMU's Isabella Arcila placed second with a 1:54.66, and Anna Mayfield of Arkansas took third with a 1:55.18.

Michael Young of LSU took the men's 200 backstroke with a 1:46.54, passing SMU's Matas Andriekus on the final 50. Andriekus was second with a 1:47.03, with Jayce Calhoon finishing third with a 1:47.66.

After posting a 48.85 in the women's 100 free prelims, Liliana Ibanez Lopez of Texas A&M won the final in 49.00. SMU's Nathalie Lindborg led at 50 yards, but settled for second with a 49.30. Sammie Bosma of Texas A&M placed third with a 49.76.

Mindauguas Sadauskas of SMU won the men's 100 free with a time of 43.98. Adam Kalms of Wyoming finished second with a 44.17, with Andrei Tuomola of LSU third in 44.31.

Ricardo Alvarado Jiminez of LSU won the men's 200 breast title with a 1:59.20, posting the only sub-2:00 swim of the meet. Gabriel Rooker of LSU placed second with a 2:01.47, while Mike McCormick was third with a 2:04.55.

LSU took the next men's race, the men's 200 fly, with Frank Greef taking the title with a 1:46.28. George Eglesfield placed second in 1:48.75, with LSU's Raymond Depadua finishing third with a 1:50.92.

SMU and Texas A&M battled from the start of the women's 400 free relay, with the Mustangs defeating the Aggies, 3:16.51 to 3:17.06. Arkansas finished third in 3:19.56. SMU swept the relays today with a win in the men's event with a 2:57.75, just ahead of Wyoming's 2:58.01. LSU finished third with a 2:58.03.

Comments Off on Breeja Larson Chases 200 Breast Record in Finals

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue