Barbara Caraballo Blitzes 400 IM NJCAA Record as The River Keeps Steamrolling the NJCAA Championships

FORT PIERCE, Florida, March 7. THE final day of the NJCAA Championships tomorrow is just academic as Indian River State College is well on its way to winning its 40th straight men’s title and 32nd consecutive women’s crown.

IRSC’s Barbara Caraballo crushed her own NJCAA record in the 400-yard IM with a 4:18.65. That time cut a huge chunk off her 4:21.64 from a year ago. ILCC’s Grace Conlon finished well behind with a second-place time of 4:36.38 with IRSC’s Kaitlyn Yearout snatching third in 4:42.88.

IRSC’s Yurie Nakano turned in a 54.11 to win the women’s 100-yard fly, about a second off her 2013 record of 53.27, while teammates Olivia Sims (59.41) and Emily Ramirez (59.55) took second and third overall in what proved to be a sparsely contested event with just 12 finishers. Nakano then doubled up with a 55.10 in the women’s 100-yard back, off her 2013 NJCAA mark of 54.35. Shelby Leonard (56.45) and Briana Flores (58.89) took second and third for IRSC.

IRSC’s Yurie Nakano, Patricia Casellas, Barbara Caraballo and Rebecca Derogatis cruised to victory in the women’s 200-yard medley relay with a 1:43.26 to open the evening. ILCC’s Cheyenne Rova, Grace Conlon, Dashley Reyes and Hannah White took second in 1:52.51, while MCC’s Xiomara Getrouw, Laura Steuerman, Elizabeth Maier and Rosalyn Louk placed third in 1:53.56.

The River’s Stefan Stojmenovic, Shota Nakano, Heinrich Alberts and Michael Ragan topped the men’s 200-yard medley relay with a 1:30.44, while DC’s Gabe Downey, Frank Bruechner, Johnny Els and Matt Weiss picked up second in 1:35.44. ILCC’s William Clark, Dima Suhushin, Kyle Thomas and Brian Bacon snatched third in 1:35.98.

IRSC’s Alec Scott smashed the field in the men’s 400-yard IM with a 3:56.27 as part of a devastating 1-5 finish for The River. Evan Jacob (3:59.29), Quinn Poti (4:01.09), Brandon Thoman (4:05.85) and ronald Santos (4:07.89) took second through fifth in the finale.

IRSC pulled off another 1-5 in the men’s 100-yard fly lead by Heinrich Alberts’ 48.09. Stefan Stojmenovic (48.42), Shota Nakano (49.98), Bryce Timonera (50.12) and Spencer Williams (50.93) completed the domination for The River.

The women’s 200-yard free featured an IRSC 1-2-3-4 effort with Josefine Hippi winning in 1:50.20. Shelby Leonard (1:51.22), Georgina Allin (1:54.99) and Rebecca Halfast (1:55.69) rounded out the top four for The River.

Adam Wise pocketed the men’s 200-yard freestyle crown with a time of 1:38.98, while teammate Michael Regan finished second in 1:39.10. MCC’s Michael Klugo pushed his way onto the podium with a third-place time of 1:40.50.

Patricia Casella led another 1-2-3-4 for Indian River with a 1:03.97 in the women’s 100-yard breast. Teammates Rebecca Derogatis (1:08.36), Sorca Jordan (1:08.91) and Vanessa Aycart (1:09.67) placed second through fourth in another small field with just 12 swimmers. Marc Rojas topped a podium sweep for IRSC in the men’s 100-yard breast with a 55.70. Shota Nakao (55.88) and Brandon Graber (57.42) took second and third in the finale.

Joshua Oathout finished the evening off with a 48.47 to win the men’s 100-yard back. Stefan Stojmenovic picked up another runner-up finish with a 49.23, while IRSC’s Bryce Timonera took third in 50.42.

The IRSC women have nearly doubled up Iowa Lakes, 1201 to 626, in the team title race. South Georgia State (526), Monroe (409) and Darton (392) round out the top five heading into the final day tomorrow.

The River’s men have a huge lead as well with 1257 points against South Georgia State’s runner-up tally of 655.5. Darton (641.5), Iowa Lakes (610) and Monroe (478) comprise the rest of the top five.

Results For: NJCAA Championships: Day Three

Comments Off on Barbara Caraballo Blitzes 400 IM NJCAA Record as The River Keeps Steamrolling the NJCAA Championships

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue