1998 Phillips 66 National Championships: Day 4

CLOVIS, CA – By winning the women’s 100m butterfly, Jenny Thompson captured her 20th U.S. National title. Her winning time of 59.74 bettered a superstar field that included 1998 NCAA Champion, Misty Hyman; 1997 NCAA Champion, Mimi Bowen and 1998 Big Ten Swimmer of the Year, Gina Panighetti.

Other winners from Day 4:
Men’s 100m butterfly: Brock Newman (53.24)
Women’s 100m backstroke: BJ Bedford (1:01.11)
Men’s 100m backstroke: Lenny Krayzelburg (54.64)
Women’s 400m freestyle: Cristina Teuscher (4:10.80)
Men’s 400m freestyle: Erik Vendt (3:51.23)

Comments Off on 1998 Phillips 66 National Championships: Day 4

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here