African Long Course Championships: South Africa Sets Several More Meet Records, Youngster Vanessa Mohr Shines -- September 17, 2010

CASABLANCA, Morocco, September 17. THE fourth day of the African Long Course Championships is in the bag with South Africa continuing to dominate the bulk of the medal stands.

South Africa went 1-2 to start the day in the women's 100 fly with 15-year-old Vanessa Mohr touching out Amanda Loots, 59.72 to 59.76, for the win. Both swimmers cleared the previous meet record of 1:00.58 set by Loots in 2008. Egypt's Farida Osman wound up third in 1:02.05.

South Africa's Jay Cee Thomson topped the men's 400 free in 3:53.12, while Tunisia's Ahmed Mathlouthi took second in 3:56.15 with both men under the former meet record of 3:57.30 set by Troyden Prinsloo in 2004. South Africa's Devon Brown claimed third in 3:57.64.

Morocco's Sara El Bekri continued to have a solid meet at home with a championship-record time of 1:10.82 in the women's 100 breast. That swim cleared the 1:11.84 set by Tamaryn Laubscher in 2006. Tunisia's Sarra Lajnef took second in 1:12.05, while South Africa's Kathryn Meaklim placed third in 1:12.11.

South Africa's William Diering put up a 2:15.65 in the men's 200 breast, lowering his 2008 meet record of 2:16.00. Algeria's Sofiane Daid touched second in 2:16.53, while Egypt's Sherif Madkour grabbed third in 2:19.25.

Meaklim earned her second podium of the night with a winning 8:55.12 to win the women's 800 free. Teammate Rene Warnes finished second in 8:57.42, while Algeria's Malya Mghezzi Bakhouche placed third in 9:06.94.

In relay action, South Africa's Jay Cee Thomson, Neil Watson, Werner Bosman and Wesley Gilchrist won the men's 400 free relay in a meet-record 3:23.99.

Day Four Results

Purchase a 30 Day Premium Membership for only $4.95

Reaction Time Login
Submit Your Comments to This Story (Free)
Don't have a Reaction Time Account?
Click here
and setup your free account now!

Screen Name:

Forgot Screen Name or Password?
Click here
and we will email it to you.

Comments: (All comments will be reviewed by our Editors)


Special Offer!