NCAA Division I Men's Championships: Texas Wins 10th NCAA Title; California Tops 400 Free Relay -- March 28, 2010

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 28. TEXAS completed what was the most balanced meet of any team this year en route to its 10th NCAA Division I Men's title in program history.

Texas ended the meet with an even 500 points to give head coach Eddie Reese his 10th crown at the helm of the Longhorns. The victory made Reese the only coach to ever win titles in four different decades. He now has triumphs in 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2010. The victory also allowed Reese to break a tie with former Southern California head coach Peter Daland to move into sole possession of second-place in the career men's title list behind Ohio State's Mike Peppe.

(editor's note: Daland is the co-founder of Swimming World Magazine along with Yale's Robert J.H. Kiphuth, who won four men's titles in his career.

With its 10th title, Texas became just the third program to break into double digits. Michigan and Ohio State own the most titles with 11 each. It is fitting that Reese moved within one more title of Peppe's NCAA record coaching titles while Texas competed in the pool named after the leader.

The final event of the meet proved to be eventful, as the meet that did not want to start due to the norovirus just did not want to end. Auburn's Christopher Fox false started, causing a disqualification for Auburn and a 10-minute break for the rest of the swimmers that all swam an all out 50.

After returning to the blocks, California's Graeme Moore (43.31), Josh Daniels (42.01), Tom Shields (42.48) and Nathan Adrian (40.98) won Cal's eighth 400 free relay in program history with a 2:48.78. The performance broke the facility record of 2:50.85 set by Auburn during prelims. Previously, Cal claimed the event in 1985-87, 2000, 2002-03 and 2005.

Texas' Dave Walters (42.33), Jimmy Feigen (42.01), Scott Jostes (42.35) and Ricky Berens (43.21) claimed second in 2:49.90 after leading through the first three legs. Texas just had to have a clean race to guarantee the team title.

Stanford's Alex Coville (43.64), Eugene Godsoe (42.92), Jake Allen (43.11) and David Dunford (41.60) rounded out the top three in 2:51.27.

As previously mentioned, Texas won the meet with 500 points. California placed second overall with 469.5 points. The next tier of programs completed the top five as Arizona (387), Stanford (369) and Florida (364) finished third, fourth and fifth. Auburn (277.5), Michigan (204), Georgia (143), Ohio State (136.5) and Virginia (123) completed the top 10.

Final awards were also announced:
Diving Coach of the Year: Adam Soldati, Purdue
Swimming Coach of the Year: Dave Durden, California
Division I National Diver of the Meet: David Boudia, Purdue
Division I Swimmer of the Meet: Conor Dwyer, Florida

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Results: NCAA Division I Men's Championships

Search For More News About: Eddie Reese

Reaction Time Comments
Reaction Time responses do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions
of Swimming World Magazine or

Reaction Time is provided as a service to our readers.

March 28, 2010 Not to be the bearer of bad news, but 2010 and 2002 are technically in the same decade.

Great meet though! Just like we saw in the women's meet, it was those divers who made the difference!
Submitted by: GigEmAggies
March 28, 2010 Let the decade debate begin. It's all over the Internet:

Here's an explanation of the two sides: Does it start with 00 or 01.

"Strictly speaking, every year starts a new decade. For example, 2007 started the decade of 2007-2016. A decade just means ten years."
Submitted by: Jason Marsteller
March 28, 2010 True, but if we're speaking strictly, Reece had already achieved this after the 2002 title, with the four decades being:

1972-1981 1982-1991 1992-2001 2002-2011.

Someone oughta come up with a special name for decades that start with 0's instead of 1's.
Submitted by: GigEmAggies
March 28, 2010 No matter what decade it is in...this was a great win for Reese and the Longhorns. Congrats to TEXAS and especially to all the seniors who ended their college career with a bang.
Submitted by: gtx84
March 29, 2010 senior divers maybe. Cal dominated the meet in swimming, which is what Reese coaches, right?
Submitted by: peeterdeeter
That is all Eddie Reese coaches is American to swim for America. So enough of this diver BS. If he really wanted to win no matter what the cost he would recruit outside the U.S So give it up the team won with the best coach. So cry cry cry.
Submitted by: swimfan3
March 29, 2010 Peeter - how can you say Cal dominated the swimming? Texas divers made up 27 of the 48+ pts that were made up the final day of competition. This includes the pts back + the amount they won by. I don't understand why people continue to try and take away from a Texas Swimming AND Diving Championship when they win with divers at the meet. Isn't that like saying a Track and Field Champion that takes pole vaulters or high jumpers doesn't really win the championship.

Until the NCAA actually changes it to a swimming only championship (which won't ever happen) maybe some of the other big time swim teams should spend time and effort on diving. Diving only makes up what, 3 of the 21 events in the meet. Yet teams like Texas and Auburn spend time on recruiting divers and making them count at the meet. Last I checked those two schools have done ok the last 12 years at NCAA's.
Submitted by: utswmer02
March 29, 2010 utswmer02, while I agree that you can't exclude the divers, the logic that the divers only made up 27 of the last day's 48 point make-up is severely flawed. That makes it sound like day 3 points count more than day 1 or 2 points. Fact of the matter is that over the course of the meet, Cal's swimmers outscored Texas' swimmers.

But yes, Texas was the better TEAM for this meet, and deserved to win the championship. And yes, often times on this site, and many other swimming sites, and swimming in general, the divers aren't given their due credit. I won't dispute those facts! I think after what we've seen this year, especially with the Florida women, that will definitely change next season.
Submitted by: GigEmAggies
March 29, 2010 I wasn't ever disputing that Cal outscored UT in swimming. But the word, DOMINATED was used. Kind of hard to dominate an entire meet when you lose a day that has 6 swimming events on it.

Also, I don't want to take anything away from Dave Durden and the job he did with the Cal swimmers. He definetly earned the Coach of the Year award he won.
Submitted by: utswmer02
March 29, 2010 HOOK 'EM HORNS!
This Texas girl is proud to be a Longhorn.

The Tower will be lit Tuesday night so if you are in Austin be sure to run by campus and check it out. I think the team will be taking their group championship picture too.
Very exciting they could pull together considering Ricky, Hill Taylor, and Jimmy Feigen were some of the big guns that were sick. Imagine what they could have done if they were 100%.

Congrats to Arizona and Stanford too for great performances with all of their illnesses too.
Submitted by: gtx84
Reaction Time responses do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions
of Swimming World Magazine or

Reaction Time is provided as a service to our readers.

2010MNCAADI  Texas wins the team championship at the 2010 Men's NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships.
Photo By: Peter H. Bick

Special Offer!