NCAA Division I Men's Championships: Duke's Nick McCrory Derails David Boudia's Sweep Attempt -- March 28, 2010

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 28. WE will have to wait at least another year for a sweep of the diving events as Duke's Nick McCrory derailed David Boudia's attempt as a clean sweep of the diving titles at the NCAA Championships.

McCrory claimed Duke's first title in NCAA swimming and diving history with a tally of 534.00 points. The tally topped Boudia's meet record of 530.45 set last year. McCrory downed Arizona State's Riley McCormick by 64.5 points, a modern NCAA record since platform became a six-dive list. Brian Earley of Southern California owns the overall record, which occurred during an 11-dive list, with an 817.90 to 687.30 win over Tom Caruso of Arkansas in 1994. That was a 130.60-point win.

Texas' Matt Cooper (462.30) and Drew Livingston (382.80) placed third and seventh to put Texas ahead by 36.5 points in the team title race. Barring a relay disqualification by Texas, that effort officially clinched Texas' 10th title – all under Eddie Reese. Boudia wound up in sixth with 405.65 points.

Texas had 466 points after the event, while California stood second with 429.5 points. Arizona (361), Stanford (337) and Florida (334) were the rest of the top five.

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Results: NCAA Division I Men's Championships

Search For More News About: Nick McCrory

2010MNCAADI  Nick McCrory wins the platform diving competition at the 2010 Men's NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships.
Photo By: Peter H. Bick

Special Offer!