NCAA Division I Women's Championships: Florida Claims 200 Free Relay -- March 18, 2010

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet.

WEST LAFAYETTE, Indiana, March 18. THE Florida Gators snatched the 200 free relay in the first event of the NCAA Division I Women's Championships.

The Gator quartet of Shara Stafford, Gemma Spofforth, Stephanie Napier and Sarah Bateman won the race in 1:27.79 to give Florida its first win ever in the event. The victory snapped a four-year streak of the event going to Arizona. Prior to Arizona's four victories, the SEC had owned the event with a four-year streak by Georgia from 2002-05.

"It's a really great way to start off our meet," Stafford said. "We're all really excited to see what else we can do, and it shows that you never know what is possible."

Stanford's Betsy Webb, Sam Woodward, Kate Dwelley and Julia Smit finished second in the event with a 1:28.38. Webb touched first among all leadoffs with a 22.13, while Smit threw down a 21.77 anchor leg. Cal's Hannah Wilson, Colleen Fotsch, Erica Dagg and Liv Jensen placed third in 1:28.97.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Women's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike

Results: NCAA Division I Women's Championships

Search For More News About: Florida

2010WNCAADI Florida wins the 200 Free Relay at the 2010 Women's NCAA Championships.
Photo By: Peter H. Bick

Special Offer!