Xu Jiayu Among Record Breakers at Day Three of the 2016 Asian Swimming Champs

Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports

Day three of the swimming competition at the 2016 Asian Swimming Championships continued to see championship records fall as another four were overturned.

China’s Xu Jiayu kickstarted the record-breaking with a 24.65 in the men’s 50-meter backstroke, sliding past the previous record of 25.03. Japan’s Shunichi Nakao took second overall with a 25.17.

Rikako Ikee of Japan garnered her first gold of the night with a top showing in the women’s 100-meter fly. Ikee posted a 57.46 to flirt with the championship record of 57.12 and be one of two swimmers to post sub-minute swims. Hong Kong’s Kin Lok Chan posted the only other sub-minute swim at a 59.82.

Japan’s Masato Sakai turned in a 1:54.53 in the men’s 200-meter fly final for the gold. His time overturned the previous championship record of 1:56.71, while teammate Daiya Seto finished second, also underneath the previous record, with a 1:55.45.

The women’s 400-meter free was highlighted by a tight field of swimmers led by China’s Li Bingjie. Li posted a 4:07.16 to grab China’s second gold medal of the day, while teammate Zhang Yuhan picked up third with a 4:08.80. Sandwiched in between was Japan’s Chihiro Igarashi and her time of 4:08.69.

Park Tae Hwan of South Korea added a championship record to his accomplishments accompanied by a gold medal in the men’s 100-meter free. Park stopped the clock at a 48.57 to dash past the previous record of 49.27. Japan’s Katsumi Nakamura and China’s Yu Hexin also finished below the previous record with times of 48.77 and 48.81 respectively.

Park added a second win in timed finals of the men’s 1500-meter free, finishing more than six seconds ahead of the competition with a 15:07.86.

Japan delivered a 1-2 finish in the women’s 100-meter breaststroke led by Misaki Sekiguchi. Sekiguchi turned in a 1:07.86, while teammate Reona Aoki was second with a 1:07.99. Shi Jinglin of China added a third place finish of 1:08.00.

Ippei Watanabe of Japan ended the session on a high note as one last championship record fell. Watanabe pulled away from the competition in the men’s 200-meter breaststroke and never looked back, posting a final time of 2:08.19. His time was well under the previous record of 2:12.13, which China’s Mao Feilian (2:11.95) also finished under.