What’s Happening With The International Swimming Hall of Fame?








AUGUST 25-27, 2017 


The 53rd Edition of ISHOF’s Honoree Weekend promises to be among the best ever. In addition to a spectacular class of honorees, ISHOF will present a spectacular photo exhibit featuring many of the greatest photographers in history.  Curated by ISHOF’s Bruce Wigo and legendary Sports Illustrated photographer Heinz Kluetmeier (a 2017 Honor Contributor),“ALL WET: A history of swimming through the Photographic Lens from the 1800s to the present, will explore the technical and artistic development of sports journalism as it related to the aquatic sports. It will include images from legendary photographers Dr. Harold Edgerton, Peter Stackpole, Coles Phinizy, John Zimmerman and the greats of today – led by Heinz.  Stay tuned for more information about the hosts of this year’s ceremonies – which will be announced shortly.

Donna de Varona, photographed in 1964 by Don Ornitz




ISC-CRC-ISHOF Project-Financial Advisory Consultant Team

On April 4, 2017, the City of Santa Clara engaged Project Financial Advisory, Limited (PFAL) to provide financial advisory, capital campaign, public opinion research, and project management services for Capital Improvement Project #3172 International Swim Center, Community Recreation Center, International Swimming Hall of Fame.  Over an approximately 32 week timeline, the team will develop and evaluate potential financial strategies and funding capacities and options; conduct community outreach and public opinion research on the options developed; form a capital campaign team to assist in raising private/corporate donations and sponsorships; and, propose potential public private partnership options to aid the City in project financing and delivery.




Presented by Pentair Aquatic Systems

Fort Lauderdale –  Sponsored by Pentair Aquatic Systems, the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) announced today the recipients of the 22nd Annual Paragon Awards.  The Paragon Awards are presented annually to individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions to aquatics in six categories. This year’s recipients are Ron Van Pool for Competitive Swimming; Terry Sayring for Water Polo, Linda Paul for Competitive Diving;  The National Swimming Pool Foundation for Aquatic Safety; Stefania Tudini (ITA) for Synchronized Swimming and Juliene Hefter for Recreational Swimming. This year’s awards will be presented on Friday evening August 25, 2017, in ceremonies at the International Swimming Hall of Fame, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA.



2017 John K. Williams, Jr. International Adapted Aquatics Award

Presented by S.R. Smith

Fort Lauderdale – The Adapted Aquatics Committee of the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) is pleased to announce that Dr. Igor Burdenko, Ph.D., will receive the 2017 John K. Williams, Jr. International Adapted Aquatics Award. The annual award, honoring individuals or organizations who have made significant and substantial contributions to the field of adaptive aquatics is presented by S.R. Smith, a world-leading manufacturer of commercial and residential swimming pool deck equipment headquartered in Canby, Oregon.  The award will be presented to Dr. Burdenko, in conjunction with ISHOF’s 53rd Annual Honoree Weekend, on Friday, August 25th, at the International Swimming Hall of Fame, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA.






The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) Induction Ceremony was held in Old Windsor, England (near Heathrow Airport) on April 22, 2017.   Eighty-eight attended with twenty-five Honorees from the Class of 1978 to present.  It was by far the largest ever assembly of Honorees.
The Class of 2017, LtR: Stephen Redmond (IRE), David O’Brien (AUS), Colin Hill (GBR), Tamara Bruce (AUS), Ricardo Ratto (BRA), Richard Broer (NED), David Barra (USA) and John Pittman (USA); Not present: Mickey Pittman (USA) – passed away in 2016 and Gibraltar ACNEG (ESP),In addition to the IMSHOF inductions, two major ISHOF awards were presented:   Poseidon Award (for high level acheivement in the sport of marathon swimming to Steven Muñatones and the Irving Davids/Captain Rogers Wheeler Memorial Award (for making major contributions to marathon swimming) to Richard Broer.


Dear Friends of the Swimming Hall of Fame,


The International Swimming Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the history of swimming and our great swimming sports.  Through this history, it fosters education and promotes a better understanding of the benefits of swimming as a key to fitness, good health, quality of life, and water safety by providing public access to our unique, one-of-a-kind museum, historical archives, displays, aquatic art and  memorabilia collections.   Your kind support with a membership, and/or donation, will help the museum continue its mission for generations to come.

To find out more about membership levels and benefits, please click here. 


 Visit ISHOF webpage:

 Find ISHOF on YouTube :

Visit and Like ISHOF on Facebook:

Adolph Kiefer
He Remembered Where He Learned to Swim



Remembering that he learned to swim at the Wilson Avenue YMCA in Chicago, Adolph Kiefer initiated before his passing, the establishment of a fund to be administered by The YMCA of the USA; to support the teaching of swimming and water safety, and scholarships for competitive swimmers of limited means.  In lieu of flowers, donations may be sent to  The YMCA of the USA, for the Adolph Kiefer Fund at: 101 North Wacker Drive, Chicago IL 60606, attention Jonathan Lever.


Chuck Wielgus (1950-2017)

April 23, 2017

USA Swimming Mourns Passing of Executive Director Chuck Wielgus





In The News


Olympic hero Mark Spitz highlights Hyannis Expo –

Mark Spitz is keynote speaker this Saturday


Don’t make a moment bigger than it has to be. That’s a lesson Mark Spitz, the nine-time Olympic gold-medalist swimmer, said he’d like to impart to younger swimmers starting their own journeys into the upper echelons of the sport.

Try not to think about the years of training, Spitz might say. Clear away the implications for your future. Instead, just focus on the race itself.



Rusty Owens Enters Year 60 of Coaching



Converse earns Richard E. Steadman Award



USA Diving names Lee Johnson as new CEO




Swimmer Who Missed Olympics During World War II To Join International Swimming Hall of Fame




René González-Mejia, honorary member of the Selection Committee of the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) has been selected for enshrinement into the Nicaraguan Sports Hall of Fame, during a ceremony scheduled to take place on June 11, 2017 at Managua’s Crowne Plaza Convention Center.





Todd & Jake McClave, Wally Spence’s grandson & great grandson


Mark Harrison Smith, great nephew of
Harrison Glancy.