TYR Pro Swim Series Prelims: Regan Smith Sets the Pace in 100 Back

Regan Smith Photo Courtesy: Becca Wyant

Regan Smith will get another chance to show what she’s got in Saturday night’s final day of the TYR Pro Swim Series stop in Des Moines. She enters the evening as the top seed in the 100 backstroke, an event where she holds the world record, after a morning swim of 58.79 seconds.

The second seed is Olivia Smoliga in 59.60 with Kathleen Baker also under a minute in the morning prelims.

Elsewhere in the morning, Jacob Pebley and Ryan Murphy renewed acquaintance after the latter claimed the 200 backstroke Friday night. Pebley is again the top seed in the men’s 100 back in 54.71 with Murphy third in 54.91. Sandwiched in between is Grigory Tarasevich, and Matt Grevers is looming as the fifth seed in 55.75.

Lilly King sits third after prelims in the women’s 200 breaststroke, the same spot she occupied in the 100 breast before storming to a win in the evening. The top seed belongs to Annie Lazor, who clocked in at 2:27.08. Second is Esther Gonzalez (2:27.90) followed by King (2:28.98).

Kevin Cordes is the top seed in the men’s 200 breast via his time of 2:12.10. Second is Chase Kalisz, followed by Nic Fink and Cody Miller. Andrew Wilson, who holds the TYR Pro Swim Series record from 2018, finished 17th in 2:20.00.

Madisyn Cox is the top seed in an intriguing final heat of the 200 IM that might look different after scratches. Cox went 2:12.33 in the morning to set the pace with Melanie Margalis, winner of the 400 IM, second by .34 seconds. Third is Leah Smith, who also has the 800 free Saturday night, and fourth is Regan Smith, who’d be facing a quick turnaround off the 100 back. Fifth in the morning was Hali Flickinger.

Ryan Lochte is the fifth seed in the men’s 200 IM after a morning swim of 2:00.95. He’ll be chasing top-seeded Michael Andrew, the only one to break two minutes at 1:58.79. Jacob Heidtmann is the second seed, followed by Andrew Seliskar and Gunnar Bentz.

Simone Manuel seized the top seed in the women’s 50 freestyle with a time of 24.56 this morning. She’s followed by Katarzyna Wasick in 24.91 with Margo Geer, Beryl Gastaldello and 100 free champ Siobhan Haughey rounding out an international A final. Only three of the eight A finalists are Americans.

The men’s sprint carnival continues to gain intrigue after a 100 free where big names missed the A-final cut. This time, Caeleb Dressel made no mistake, grabbing the top seed in 22.08 seconds. Second was Brett Hayden, the 36-year-old Canadian, in 22.25. Among the Americans, Michael Chadwick, Zach Apple, Michael Andrew, Robert Howard and Nathan Adrian (in fifth) made the A final. That leaves Blake Pieroni and Ryan Held in the B final.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago


Canadian Swim Momma
3 years ago

Brent Hayden…