Tes Schouten & Arno Kamminga Among Netherlands Team Set For European Short-Course Championships

Tes Schouten of The Netherlands celebrates after winning the silver medal in the 100m Breaststroke Women Final during the FINA Swimming Short Course World Championships at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre in Melbourne, Australia, December 15th, 2022. Photo Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto
Tes Schouten: Photo Courtesy: Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Tes Schouten & Arno Kamminga Among Netherlands Team Set For European Short-Course Championships

Tes Schouten and Arno Kamminga are among a 20-strong Netherlands team announced for the European Short-Course Championships in Romania next month.

Seven men and 13 women will make the trip to Otopeni for the meet running from 5-10 December.

Schouten won 200m breaststroke bronze at the World Championships in Fukuoka in a then Dutch record of 2:21.63 which she subsequently lowered to 2:21.52 at the final World Cup stop in Budapest.

The 22-year-old holds the 100 and 200 national records in both the long and short-course pool and won silver and bronze in the 100 and 200 breast respectively at last year’s World Short-Course Championships in Melbourne.

Double Olympic silver medallist Kamminga was in a three-way tie for silver with Nic Fink and Nicolo Martinenghi in the 100m breaststroke in Fukuoka.

His first senior international medal came at the 2017 European Short-Course Championships in Copenhagen where he won gold with the 4x50m mixed medley relay.

Since then he’s won a further three titles and has nine medals across three continental short-course meets.

Netherlands team for the 2023 European Short-Course Championships:


Tes Schouten, Kira Toussaint, Valerie van Roon, Silke Holkenborg, Tessa Giele, Lotte Hosper and Anna van Droffelaar .


Arno Kamminga, Caspar Corbeau, Thom de Boer, Kenzo Simons, Jesse Puts, Thomas Jansen, Sean Niewold, Bram Zwetsloot, Lucas Peters, Koen de Groot, Luca Janssen, Ivo Kroes and Brandon van den Berg.

Coaching Staff:

Kees Robbertsen (head coach), Geert Janssen (coach), Mark Faber (coach), Jan Herber (physiotherapist), Kees van Geel (physiotherapist), Rogier Steins (doctor) and Sjors Lommerts (team manager).



Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x