Taylor McCoy, Chloe Larson Set Washington State Records, Houston Wins Phill Hansel Invitational

Chloe Larson; Photo Courtesy: Juan DeLeon/Juan DeLeon Creative

Taylor McCoy, Chloe Larson Set Washington State Records, Houston Wins Phill Hansel Invitational

Washington State’s Taylor McCoy and Chloe Larson set program records down in Houston, where the Cougars won their fifth straight Phill Hansel Invitational this weekend.

Houston finished first with 1,463 points, just edging out San Diego State.

Phill Hansen Invitational Team Standings

  1. Houston 1,463
  2. San Diego State 1,459
  3. Rice 1,192
  4. Washington State 923
  5. Colorado State 866
  6. Air Force 651
  7. Tulane 622.5
  8. New Mexico 384.5
  9. North Texas 30

Larson started the history chase on Thursday by leading off the women’s 200 free relay in 22.13 seconds. That trims the Pac-12 champion’s school record in the 50 free by .03. It also helped the foursome of Larson, Angela Di Palo, Paige Gardner and Noelle Harvey set a school-record time of 1:30.99, downing the school record from 2015 by a tenth. Larson, DiPalo, Emily Barrier and Selena Duran set a program mark in the 400 free relay (3:19.23) en route to the win.

Larson would go on to win the 50 free in 22.30 and the 100 free in 49.02, both NCAA B cuts.

McCoy picked up school records on Friday and Saturday. In the 400 individual medley, McCoy went 4:14.58 to win, undercutting by nearly a second the record set in 2017 by Addisynn Bursch. McCoy clocked in at 1:56.12 in the prelims of the 200 backstroke on Saturday, downing Loree Olson’s 2013 program record. She would finish second in finals in that event to San Diego State’s Riley Tapley.

Houston got the win despite not winning a swimming event. It dominated diving, though. Katie Deininger and Chase Farris went 1-2 on 3-meter. Farris won platform. Houston swept spots two through six in 1-meter, Farris leading the way behind Colorado State winner Lindsay Gizzi. Marina Ortega picked up the Cougars’ only B cut, in the 400 IM.

San Diego State had a big meet on the B-cut front. Kristin Murphy nabbed four considerations times, clocking in at 1:59.44 for second in the 200 IM, 4:15.03 for second in the 400 IM, 1:01.55 for third in the 100 breast and 2:13.96 for fourth in the 200 breast.

That latter two events were won the meet’s individual standout, Klara Thormalm. She was second to Larson in the 50 free, then won the 100 breast in 59.25 and the 200 breast in 2:09.63, a margin of nearly four seconds. Thormalm also swam on the Aztecs’ winning 200 medley, 400 medley and 200 free relays. The 100 breast was a 1-2-3 with Thormalm, Sammy Geyer and Murphy. Tapley led off both medley relays and got a B cut to win the 200 back in 1:56.10.

Rice won the 800 free relay. Maddy Howe and Arielle Hayon went 1-2 in the 100 fly in B-cut times, Howe winning in 52.86. Hayon would win the 200 fly. Third in that event was Air Force’s Corbyn Cormack, who won the 200 IM in 1:59.40, her first of two B cuts. Her time is the second-fastest in program history. She set a program record with her 100 fly time of 53.27.

Colorado State’s Maya White won the 1,650 in a B cut of 16:28.50. Tulane got a B cut via Lilly Byrne, the winner of the 500 free in 4:47.05. Danielle Titus won the 100 back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.