Stanford Claims Title Of 2016 Pac 12 Champions

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold

Stanford extended their lead over the competition in day four to claim the title of 2016 Pac 12 Champions with a total of 808 points.

USC finished second overall with a combined 700 points, while Cal grabbed third with 628 points.

Arizona, ASU, and Utah ended the competition with 569, 402, and 295 points respectively.


  • 200 BACK
  • 100 FREE
  • 200 BREAST
  • 200 FLY
  • 400 FREE RELAY
  • 1650 FREE

200 BACK

Patrick Mulcare of USC dashed to a first place finish in the 200 back, posting a final time of 1:39.64. Mulcare managed to shave .58 seconds off his prelims time of 1:40.22.

Stanford’s Patrick Conaton and Arizona’s Thane Maudslien battled for second, stopping the clock a slim .12 seconds apart. Conaton led at the 100 with a 49.03 split compared to Maudslien’s 49.52. Despite a quicker back half from Maudslien (51.61 to 51.98) Conaton finished second with a 1:41.01 over Maudslien’s 1:41.13.

ASU’s Barkley Perry took fourth overall with a time of 1:41.84, while Stanford’s Ryan Arata finished fifth with a 1:41.90.

Chatham Dobbs of Arizona grabbed sixth with a time of 1:43.52 over Cal’s Connor Green (1:43.68).

Jonathan Knox of USC was eighth with a time of 1:44.08.

100 FREE

The 100 free proved to be a quick field with the top two qualifiers finishing .06 seconds apart. Sam Perry of Stanford and Renny Richmond of Arizona raced to a close finish with Perry touching with a 42.72 over Richmond’s 42.78.

USC’s Ralf Tribuntsov touched third with a time of 43.14 ahead of ASU’s Richard Bohus (43.23).

Justin Lynch of Cal finished fifth overall with a time of 43.27, while ASU’s Tadas Duskinas was sixth with a 43.35.

Cole Cogswell of Stanford (43.54) and Reed Malone of USC (43.71) rounded out the top eight.


Steven Stumph of USC maintained his spot at the top of the podium, finishing with a time of 1:54.01.

Stanford’s Matt Anderson finished second overall with a time of 1:54.77, dropping .47 seconds off his prelims time of 1:55.24.

ASU’s Christian Lorenz and Cal’s Hunter Cobleigh delivered strikingly similar times, stopping the clock just .02 seconds apart. Lorenz got his hand to the wall first to claim third with a 1:55.32 over Cobleigh’s 1:55.34.

Gage Crosby of Arizona delivered a final time of 1:55.73 for fifth, while Cal’s Matt Whittle took sixth with a 1:55.95.

Blair Bish of Arizona finished seventh with a time of 1:55.62 over USC’s Morten Klarskov (1:56.69).

200 FLY

Andrew Seliskar of Cal dashed to first with a time of 1:41.53 in the 200 fly. Arizona’s Justin Wright finished close behind with a time of 1:41.76 for second.

Cal’s Long Gutierrez grabbed third with a time of 1:43.02, while Arizona’s Rasmus Skjaerpe was fourth with a 1:44.16.

Stanford teammates Gray Umbach and Jimmy Yoder took fifth and sixth respectively. Umbach finished with a time of 1:44.37, just ahead of Yoder’s 1:44.44.

Patrick Park of ASU (1:44.45) took seventh and Stanford’s Abraham DeVine (1:45.29) was eighth.


Collin Pollard of USC claimed first in the platform diving event, posting a final score of 427.70, while Stanford’s Ted Miciau grabbed second with a total of 420.20 points.

ASU’s Heikki Makikallio rounded out the top three with a score of 364.05 just ahead of USC’s Dash Enos (361.85).

Jake Crayne of Utah finished fifth with a total of 357.45 points, while Arizona’s Dominic Ricotta was sixth with 339.60.

USC’s Deon Reid (324.00) and Stanford’s Tarek Abdelghany (289.35) rounded out the top eight.


Cal’s relay team of Justin Lynch (42.71), Kyle Croan (42.91), Andrew Seliskar (42.38), and Long Gutierrez (42.47) delivered a sizzling 2:51.47 to claim the Pac 12 title in the 400 free relay.

Stanford and ASU battled for second, finishing .32 seconds apart. Stanford’s foursome of Sam Perry (42.97), Cole Cogswell (43.16), Connor Black (42.79), and Spencer DeShon (43.12) grabbed second with a time of 2:52.04, while ASU’s Richard Bohus (43.20), Tadas Duskinas (42.96), Thomaz Martins (43.31), and Barkley Perry (42.89) finished third with a combined time of 2:52.36.

USC turned in a time of 2:52.49 for fourth, while Arizona was fifth with a time of 2:53.08.

Stanford’s ‘B’ relay (2:54.44), Arizona’s ‘B’ relay (2:55.92), and Utah’s ‘A’ relay (3:00.01) rounded out the top eight.

1650 FREE

Stanford’s Liam Egan outlasted the competition in the mile with a time of 14:44.85, shaving an astounding 20.46 seconds off his entry time of 15:05.31.

Arizona’s Ty Fowler took second overall with a final time of 14:49.44, while Danny Thomson of Stanford was third with a 14:52.12.

Bence Kiraly of Utah grabbed a close fourth, stopping the clock at a 14:53.28 ahead of ASU’s Juan Tolosa’s 14:55.22.

USC’s Pawel Furtek (14:56.00), Cal’s Nick Norman (14:56.53), and USC’s Ted Singley (14:57.80) rounded out the top eight.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Leah Allen
8 years ago

Josh Thorpe

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x